RSS

Quotes to end the year

30 Dec

2011 has been a very tumultuous time.  Arab Spring, the Occupy movement, bin Laden’s assassination, Kim Jong il’s death, the increase of fear mongering in the western world.

English: Albert Einstein. Français : Portrait ...

Image via Wikipedia

So, with all of that I found some quotes which I hope make people think, both inward and outward, and some that I hope help to enlighten, brighten and calm.

The separation of the races is not a disease of colored people, but a disease of white people…I do not intend to be quiet about it. ~Albert Einstein

This next is a poem by Samuel Coleridge, and it fits with the turning of the old year into the new year.

Samuel Taylor Coleridge

Image via Wikipedia

Therefore all seasons shall be sweet to thee,
Whether the summer clothe the general earth
With greenness, or the redbreast sit and sing
Betwixt the tufts of snow on the bare branch
Of mossy apple-tree, while the nigh thatch
Smokes in the sunthaw; whether the eve-drops fall
Heard only in the trances of the blast,
Or if the secret ministry of frost
Shall hang them up in silent icicles,
Quietly shining to the quiet Moon
~From “Frost at Midnight” by Samuel Taylor Coleridge

English: Zane Grey

Image via Wikipedia

These two relate to me, because I know this feeling when I try to sit down and write.  And it also marks how I feel each time I sit down to read.  They also happen to be from two of the first western authors that I began reading when I was 12.

Every once in a while I feel the tremendous force of the novel. But it does not stay with me. ~Zane Grey

Louis L'Amour

Image via Wikipedia

For one who reads, there is no limit to the number of lives that may be lived, for fiction, biography, and history offer an inexhaustible number of lives in many parts of the world, in all periods of time. ~Louis L’Amour

 
3 Comments

Posted by on December 30, 2011 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

3 responses to “Quotes to end the year

  1. Darlene Steelman

    December 30, 2011 at 10:29 am

    Very awesome… :) Thanks for sharing.. I am going to check out the links you posted in the wee hours of Saturday when I get home from job #2.
    Best of luck to you in the future.

    Happy New Year if I don’t see you around..

     
  2. @dieselpokers

    January 3, 2012 at 11:44 am

    Great post! :)

     

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 716 other followers

