RSS

When I was younger

02 Dec

When I was younger
I’d often dream
Of far away places
Made up in my mind

When I was younger
I would often imagine
Starships and dragons
And places of wonder

When I was younger
I’d play make believe
Always the hero of legend
I’d destroy all evil

When I was younger
I would set up elaborate scenes
Draw fields of stars or fields of grass
And fill them with ships or knights or cowboys

When I was younger
I’d dream of a time
When adventure was commonplace
A buckle to swash, a duel to wage

When I was younger
I would write little stories
Of talking animals able to fly across space
Or where dragons were heroes

When I was younger
I’d often dream
Of far away places
Made up in my mind

But now I am older
And such things are considered childish
Yet I still imagine
Of places so grand

But now I am older
I am told to let go
Of those places of make believe
Of far away lands

But now I am older
I am often told
That such things are silly
Childish for one so old

But now I am older
Is it time to let go?
To end the imagination
That once was so bold

But now I am older
I often would think
Such things would go nowhere
If this was what everyone believed

But now I am older
Time to put the toys away
To grow up and be responsible
More work and less play

But now I am older
And such things are considered childish
Yet I still imagine
Of places so grand

Even now that I am older
I will often wonder
Is it possible to dream of the things
That I did when I was younger

 
1 Comment

Posted by on December 2, 2013 in Writing

 

Tags: ,

One response to “When I was younger

  1. kmsraj51

    December 3, 2013 at 1:04 am

     

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 626 other followers

