RSS

Update to Flag on my Backpack

15 Jun

After several months of working on other projects, with the thought of doing the sequel to Flag on my Backpack, it’s come to the realization after looking through the vast 71 pages of material (not nearly as much as Black Mask & Pale Rider, but close to Canyons of Steel) it feels that there needs to be more.  It needs to be revisited.  While doing the entire story through first person describing memories and stories, I’m thinking of changing and expanding it, so it’s completely in third person, with the beginning point on Dominique’s 16th birthday, then flashing back to September, 1970.

Part of this complete revisiting of the “origin story” is because while Flag is supposed to be about Canadian identity and Canadian pride, it will also be filled with pop culture and history.  There’s certain things I want to describe, from major character development, right down to the fact that Dom has her own personal iPod and track list she listens to while taking down bad guys.  Whereas in the 1970’s her father, Jean Pierre, used a Realistic (that’s the brand name of an old transistor radio sold through Radio Shack) to keep track of news and also search out any criminals.

And, you never know, I may even try to script it so it can be done as a comic book.  I’ve even taken a stab at redesigning Dom’s costume.  Most likely I’ll have to do a redesign of Jean Pierre’s as well, as the first major arc will be through a flashback that details his motivation to put on a costume and fight crime as Canadien.  For those really, really curious, the new look is to the left.  At least that’s the initial design.

At present, I won’t give myself the July 1st deadline to try and get this going, but I do hope to have some parts of it up over the summer months (I totally dream of sitting in a lawn chair, frosty beverage close by, and writing away in a notebook or typing away on my laptop).

I also have to admit, I’m totally liking the redesign over past ideas I’ve had for a suit for Canadienne.

 
3 Comments

Posted by on June 15, 2011 in Flag on my Backpack, Writing

 

Tags: ,

3 responses to “Update to Flag on my Backpack

Leave a comment