RSS

Oh my computer

17 Jan

book

It’s giving me more grief.

It began just before Christmas, when Windows announced at boot up that the profile was corrupt and was not recoverable.  I reboot and choose the last known good setting at start up.  It’s been okay since then, but this morning it did it again.

I can’t afford a new desktop at this time, I guess I’ll just have to deal with it until next month when I can get a new one.  It’s especially bad considering I have to renew the plates for my car at the end of this month.  Fortunately, my GST cheque came in.

For those not in the know, GST/HST Cheques are refunds from the federal and provincial government for having to pay… the GST, which is a tax on goods and services.  There was a large uproar when it was implemented over 20 years ago.

At any rate, I just hope my desktop can survive long enough until I can get a new one.  Fortunately, I don’t need to do backups, because I’m crazy paranoid about backing up anything I do on my system.  The one thing I don’t look forward to is re-installing everything.

  • Guild Wars 1
  • Guild Wars 2
  • Champions Online
  • Star Trek Online
  • Neverwinter Nights 1
  • Neverwinter Nights 2
  • RayDream Suite 5.5
  • Creative Suite (maybe it’s time to move from v3)
  • yWriter
  • AutoREALM
  • MobiPocket Reader and Creator
  • Printer drivers
  • camera software
  • Blackberry software
  • Thunderbird
  • Chrome

Which will actually be a good number of programs and games I use.

Yeah, I still go back and play NWN from time to time

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on January 17, 2013 in Life, randomness

 

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

 
