RSS

Easily distracted

09 Feb

qi_gameshow_2007a

I’ve done it thousands of times.  I’ll say “I’m gonna do this thing this weekend”.  To which I’ll end up completely distracted, and never get the thing done that I wanted to get done.

Fortunately, none of these things I want to get done are rather pressing.  They’re more things I’d like to do, but just don’t feel like it at the time.  And a little later, I end up not really knowing why I wanted to do it in the first place.

A prime example of this sometimes is going online to play a video game, like Guild Wars 2, because I want that particular thing that is available, but I need to do some stuff with my character.  I’ll be honest, I’ve got three level 80 characters in the game.  I have finished the story arch missions with one of them, though I haven’t finished the story arch dungeons.  But there’s stuff like neat armour that you can buy with some of the in game currency, or legendary weapons to craft, or maxing out the two crafting skills a character can get.

But then I get distracted by something like QI on Youtube, and the next you know it, I’ve spent six hours listening about weird facts of the world.  Maybe it’s the dulcet tones of Stephen Fry (or it could Alan Davis, not sure on that).

QI isn’t the only thing which I’ll get distracted with.  Admittedly, though, it’s a lot of British television that does distract me.  Most of it being these mindless quiz like shows, like QI or The Big Fat Quiz of the Year, or Nevermind The Buzzcocks.  I heard Alice Cooper hosted an episode of NTB and had to watch it.  Any time Noel Fielding or Russel Brand show up on TBFQ, I have to watch it.  I heard that Reggie D. Hunter was on one of those shows and immediately my reaction is “screw cleaning the kitchen sink, I have to watch this”.

I’ve tried just sitting and letting the feeling pass, but sitting there often involves watching Youtube, which invariably leads me to QI.  At least, with these diversions, I end up with small tid bits of trivia that I can use in my writing.

Like the fact that the popular hat of the wild west was actually a Bowler hat (also called the Tall Derby Hat), not a stetson.

HoleintheWallGang

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on February 9, 2013 in Fun, randomness

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
