RSS

Ahead of schedule

10 Apr

seniafelixspaceback

When I started writing this thing called Rocket Fox back in November, I had hoped to get in 50K words for NaNoWriMo.  Well, that sort of fell through, because my brain couldn’t decide if I was writing this new thing about Rocket Fox or revamping Black Mask & Pale Rider (which, I’ll still do).  Over the course of the winter, I hit a lot of really deep lows, and there were several times I really felt like quitting.  I had every excuse in the book to stop writing.  Fortunately, one thing kept me going, and that was what I thought my 12 year old self would have thought if I just quit.

I know that kids expect things, especially when someone promises to do that thing.  When that promise is broken it’s damaging to the child.  So I couldn’t give up, because then I’d be breaking a promise.  Even if the promise was to a part of myself that resides somewhere deep in my past.

I ended up setting a date, a deadline as it were, way back in December.  I didn’t publish this date or tell anyone about this date at all, I just told myself and hoped my 12 year old self would get it as well.  That date was by the end of April, the first book of Rocket Fox would see the first draft completed.  I have two chapters left now.  There’s over 60,000 words in the story, which isn’t a lot, but when you think of how long the Great Gatsby is, then you realize why NaNoWriMo settled on 50,000 words in a month.  That’s how long the Great Gatsby is; 50,000 words.  With only two chapters left in Rocket Fox, I think I might get the total around 70,000 (give or take a couple of thousand words).  And then the editing can start.

There’s other things I want to do for the book, which includes my own artwork.  That in and of itself is a daunting task because I haven’t sat down to drawn in over two decades.  I used to draw a lot, but gave up at some point in my life.  But I really feel that Rocket Fox deserves to have pictures between each chapter, something that reflects the chapter to come, and a small reminder to the reader that these characters aren’t human.

I’m hoping that sometime this weekend I’ll have finished the first draft of Rocket Fox: Flight of the Nighthawk, and be ready to get the second draft on the go.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on April 10, 2013 in Life, randomness

 

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
