RSS

Amazing things you can learn while scouring the Internet

19 May

Or at least, while scrolling through your tumblr dashboard.

I ran across this awesome little tutorial that one of my followers (and obviously someone I follow) had posted and it works great.  It’s an HDR effect that you can duplicate in Photoshop and really works best for older photographs that have been scanned.

Here’s the rundown.

  1. Open your picture.
  2. Duplicate layer (Ctrl+J)
  3. Overlay that shit 50%
  4. Flatten image (Ctrl+E)
  5. Duplicate that one layer that you have now (Ctrl+J)
  6. Desaturate (Shift+Ctrl+U)
  7. Invert (Ctrl+I)
  8. Gaussian Blur it to 40
  9. Now overlay that B&W Blurred image
  10. Duplicate and sharpen if necessary

The result works on any image, whether it’s a photo or a screen capture through a video game.  I took a video game screen cap from Guild Wars 2 and gave it a try.

Original screen capture.

Original screen capture.

Image after using the steps.

Image after using the steps.

It’s subtle but you can see the brighter colour in the ship’s sails behind the building Shani is standing on.  Even the sky looks a bit brighter.  Now, what about a photograph?

Original image from my laptop's web cam.

Original image from my laptop’s web cam.

Newly created image using the above steps.

Newly created image using the above steps.

Even in this image, there’s things that appear just a bit brighter.  But, what about an image that was taken by a camera like a Kodak Brownie and then scanned?

My cat Jenny!  The original photo.

My cat Jenny! The original photo.

Jenny after some touch ups.

Jenny after some touch ups.

I am going to add this to my list of things to do when working on photos.

 
3 Comments

Posted by on May 19, 2013 in Fun, randomness

 

Tags: , ,

3 responses to “Amazing things you can learn while scouring the Internet

  1. Ryland Madden

    March 21, 2014 at 7:32 am

    What application do you use to do this?

     
  2. Ryland Madden

    March 21, 2014 at 7:33 am

    Nevermind I see it says photoshop. I apologize that didn’t load correctly.

     
  3. Tim

    March 21, 2014 at 4:50 pm

    Reading back on this, I realize I only tagged it as Photoshop, I didn’t actually say Photoshop in the post itself. I’m gonna fix that.

     

Leave a Reply

 
