RSS

Quotes and random times!

22 May

Faults are thick where love is thin! -author unknown

It seems that there are a lot of people out there who really enjoy putting someone down.  They are quick to judge, easy to point out flaws and faults, will say quickly how they don’t like something.  Sadly, I used to be like this, but I’m happy to say over the years I’ve managed to drag that negative piece out of me.  The reason why is not only does it dishearten someone you are talking to, but it is detrimental to your own person.  When you turn that around, however, then not only does it encourage the person who is working, but it can make you feel a lot better about yourself.  Plus, that positive attitude rubs off on others, and as the saying goes, what goes around comes around.  If you do incredibly crappy things, then that’s all you’ll get.  But if you do good things, then you’ll get that in return.

I’m not saying that encourage with wild abandon.  You do have to be careful.  Encouraging someone’s project without giving them a tip as to make it better can have negative results.  If the person fails, then that’s a horrible feeling.  Often, it’s difficult to climb out of that hole that you’ve dug yourself into.  Still, if you’re the person who gave the encouragement, it’s better to be there to help that person out of the hole.

People want what you have, but don’t want to be where you have been. -author unknown

We, as a species, do like things the easy way.  We like to get a job without actually doing any work involved in getting a job.  Even when we do have a job, it’s preferable to sit comfortably on our hind ends than to actually work and do the things we were hired for.  Often, we look at someone who’s had some success and think “I wish I could be that lucky”.  But that’s the real kicker, a lot of those people who’ve had great success have not been lucky but worked their butts off.  Oh, there are those (who mostly reside in the 1%) who didn’t work hard, but basically had the good fortune of being born into wealth.  They road that train hard and continue riding it, knowing full well their own children are also going to end up on the same train you took.  And it won’t end there for that family, as generation after generation will do no work in order to get that which they were born into.  And boy do they feel entitled.  “I deserve this because it’s my family’s!”  Your family may have earned their wealth, however, on the backs of others.  But I guess, if you’d like to be entitled to blood money, be my guest.

But then there’s those who do put in an effort and it pays off.  Granted, it pays off when there is a large number of other people who see the work and say “wow, this is pretty awesome, I will actually spend money to get that and enjoy it”.  A good example is J. K. Rowling.  Rowling lived on social assistance for a good part of her life while she was writing the first couple of books.  But they took off, people loved them, there was resulting movies and such, and Rowling has become a major success.

So, I guess the point is, never give up, always work your hardest, and if you do see someone who is trying something new, whether it’s a video or a book or a story or a comic… don’t discourage them.

“There are three things I was born with in this world, and there are three things I will have until the day I die; hope, determination, and song.” -Miriam Makeba

While this is true, there are three things I was born with and three things I’ll die with, it’s kind of vague in a way at times.  I know for a fact music throughout my life has played a very important role.  From when I was a kid and my mom was getting me to take piano lessons (which I now regret dropping) to present day when I scour for new music to listen to.  When I was a kid, my mom didn’t send me to piano lessons because it was the thing to do with kids.  My mom taught me piano.  No fees for paying a music teacher, no need to drive anywhere.  The piano was in our dining room.  I’d sit on it sometimes without thinking.  My mom and dad still have that piano, and when I visit them, I will still sit on that bench without thinking.

But, like all kids at the young age I was, I sometimes felt I was being forced into it.  It’s something I regret quitting now.

However, I’m not dead.  It really shouldn’t be too late to learn.

The best preparation for tomorrow is the right use of today. -author unknown

It’s amazing how when one day slides into the next that when you have a really good day, chances are the next day might be pretty good too.  When you prepare yourself for things you have to do (or things you want to do), it’s wonderful when you get the chance to actually get things done that you’ve wanted to get done.  So, in closing, plan for tomorrow today, no matter what it is you do.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on May 22, 2013 in Life, randomness

 

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
