RSS

Oh those summer nights

07 Jun

Okay, not exactly summer, but this time of year is what I live for.

The past couple of nights I have had to be out of the house for a couple of reasons.  Yesterday was an Ice Hawks meeting (I’m on the board of executives, and for those who don’t know, that’s the local hockey team), and the previous night I had to prepare the paper for delivery yesterday.  The paper has to get to the post office by about eight in the morning, so I do all of the things needed to get all the labels on each paper and make sure flyers are inserted into all the papers that the customer requests.

During the winter, this is what it might look like when I get done around 7:30 to 9:00 pm (and sometimes even later depending on the work load).

Outlook-20130211-00156

Dark, drab, depressing.  Let’s just say, I’m not fond of that which is a winter wonderland.

Summertime is much better for me, which is why I dream of it during those long, cold winter nights.  Because last night, and Wednesday night, this is what I got to see at 9:30 in the evening.

Outlook-20130605-00221

Outlook-20130605-00224

Outlook-20130605-00226

Outlook-20130605-00229Lots of green, quite warm, colourful sky.  The longer days mean my attitude feels a lot better.  It’s what comes with having SADs (Seasonal Affective Disorder).  I often will go into massive depression during the winter and at times it’s really hard to get motivated.  During the summer, it’s a lot easier.

I’ve often been told “You should move to a warmer climate”.  Nah, not really.  While it’d be nice to move, I really don’t want to move.  There are other ways of dealing with depression during winter, and part of that involves some extra vitamins, or even sitting under a UV lamp while I read.  It helps.

But the thing that really helps is the longer days of summer, the warm weather and the green everywhere.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on June 7, 2013 in Life, randomness

 

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
