RSS

A trip down memory lane

19 Mar

In June of 1998 was the last foray into that magical world of radio broadcasting for me.  My last time on the air was at Power 99 FM in Prince Albert, Saskatchewan.  It all began 11 years earlier, at CJAR in The Pas, Manitoba.

Throughout the course of that time, I had some major ups and downs.  I got laid a lot, forced to grow up a lot, did some really stupid things.  No wonder the last nine years in Outlook were like a dream vacation.  However, over the course of that time period I did have some good times.

A lot of that can be attributed to the music that surrounded me.  For instance, when I worked in Rosetown, Saskatchewan at CJYM, I listened to a lot of the newer stuff that came out.  Stuff like Hootie and the Blowfish, Matchbox 20, Alanis Morrisette, and the Goo Goo Dolls.

Some of those songs may sound a tad dated (they are, really they are), but the also consisted of happy memories that I had from my radio days.  Not everything was rock and roll, mind you (though, I’m not sure if you could say that Hootie and the Blowfish was traditional rock and roll).  There was bouts with country music as well.

CJVR in Melfort, Saskatchewan, CKDM in Dauphin, Manitoba and CJGX in Yorkton, Saskatchewan were all turns at country music stations.  CJVR was the only place where I was a news announcer, not an on air announcer.  Each of those stations played heavy amounts of country music, though in Yorkton they also played some adult contemporary, and they had a rock set in the overnight on CKDM.  Yorkton was also the place where they had the infamous Saturday Night Get Together.  An evening of old time country and good old Ukrainian music.  And me, a Scottish/German prairie boy from the western side of Saskatchewan had no clue what a seven step even was.

I mentioned I got laid a lot, and it’s true.  In about four instances it was at the station while the overnight satellite feed kicked in.  Once while Garth Brooks, Ain’t Goin’ Down ‘Til The Sun Comes Up was playing.

I learned a lot, grew a lot, had some fun, and met some really great people.  I met Richie Hall from the Saskatchewan Roughriders.  I got to interview Roy Romanow when he was still Premier of Saskatchewan.  I met George Fox before he became a well known country singer in Canada.  From politicians to sports figures to musical acts, I did meet a lot of people.

It was sixteen years ago, but it was an enjoyable time for me.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on March 19, 2014 in Life, randomness

 

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

 
