RSS

My NaNoWriMo

10 Nov

It’s been nine full days into November, and the writing has been going well.  Let me amend that; the writing has been going well compared to last year.  Last year, I struggled to get 5,000 words in a month.  This year, I’ve hit 6,000 words already.  I’m far behind, but I’m doing much better.

And I owe it to my surroundings.  My environment.

The change in scenery, not just where I live, but also my work place, has helped kick start a whole new creativity for me.  My workplace is an enjoyable atmosphere that allows me to work very calmly and without fear of any backlash or demeaning comments.

A person’s creativity suffers when you have to deal with a toxic environment on a daily basis.  And it’s not just the creativity.  It’s also any motivation to do anything.  Here, I have a new found freedom.  I wake early each day (sleeping in has become waking up at 7 in the morning).  On days off, I actually do things that are considered productive, even if it’s just popping down to the grocery store to get some necessities, or doing the dishes.

Writing is hard, even at the best of times.  But it helps to be a place where you feel comfortable, and that’s more than just your home.  That includes your workplace.  It will help in so many more areas of your life when you work in a place that you feel comfortable in.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on November 10, 2014 in Fun, Life, randomness

 

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

 
