RSS

The Way I See It: More book burning

24 Mar

Say NO to CPSIALast week I discovered the CPSIA and the implementation of a law that has a lot of people up in arms. Rightly so. Even misinterpreted, the law reads as though books published before 1985 need to be destroyed due to high lead contents in pigmentation used in the ink process for images within the covers of said books. Closer scrutiny shows that there is a one year moratorium to allow businesses that deal in used products and books and even libraries the time to figure out what to do with the more than one hundred years worth of books (in some cases more than two hundred years).

This morning I read that is now being examined in Canada. Typical that the Canadian government would follow in the footsteps of stupidity so closely.

Bill 6, which is the successor to Bill 52, is the CCPSA, or the Canada Consumer Product Safety Act, is the Canadian answer to the American law. There is some wiggle room here and there, however, so it’s not all gloom and doom for books in Canada. There is one crucial bit that I read at ecoDomestica reDesign’s web site.

Here’s the crucial bit: The regulations in Section 36 explain specifically that the Governor in Council (ie, the Governor General signing orders from Federal Ministers) may create regulations that exempt a class of consumer products or a group of people, the nature of the documentation required, etc, and how technical reference documents (such as those that set the limits for lead and phthalate content in children’s products) can be incorporated into the Act. So, provision is made for creating exemptions, prohibitions, and technical references later; it’s not clear to me when in the process this happens.

ecoDomestica reDesign asks the question why Canadians have been so quiet about this law coming to pass. Well, it really isn’t the GST (Goods and Services Tax) that Mulroney brought in during the last years of his administration of the 1980’s. And it’s not the gun control law that had people scratching their heads as to why it was needed. However, that does not detract from the fact that any repeat of the CPSIA is a mistake, which in the long run will only hurt small business.

Tim’s rant begins here:

Are we that stupid in this country that we would blindly follow the Americans in a law that is receiving a lot of attention and that is bringing up a lot of hostility toward? Why would we do something such as this? Is it the Canadian government, once again, trying to make peace with the sleeping giant by making laws that appease to the law makers south of the border, yet almost ignoring what Canadians truly want? Sadly, Harpers Conservatives currently are the only stable option in Parliament, although Iggy’s Liberals are making strides. Perhaps it’s time to get on the e-mail client and start bombarding MP’s in the area about the dangers of such a law. And pray that Lucy Maud Montgomery is not rolling over in her grave.

As a Canadian, we can’t allow for this mistake to happen once again. Not in this country.

Until next time…

…keep ’em flyin’!

 
4 Comments

Posted by on March 24, 2009 in Opinion, randomness, Rants, The Way I See It

 

Tags:

4 responses to “The Way I See It: More book burning

  1. Ex Boyfriend

    April 8, 2009 at 9:36 pm

    This topic is quite trendy on the Internet at the moment. What do you pay the most attention to while choosing what to write about?

     
  2. Tim

    April 9, 2009 at 11:36 am

    It may sound snobbish, but everything. We live in a media firestorm and are continually bombarded by information. On my desktop at work and at home, Twirl runs in the background informing me of the latest Tweets from my followers. Some are just bits of randomness, others are useful information. I have several authors I follow on Twitter, and I get some useful information and an insight into their experiences as writers. I follow individuals like Walter Olson at Overlawyered, which is the source for this blog entry. I’ve written a bit about this topic, shifting gears to look into the Canadian equivalent. Which is actually much better than the American bill.

    We look at our own lives and the world around us when we write. Such as Zodi’s experiences with her home life, my seeing the truck beast from hell and so on. I discuss sports, ranging from the Ottawa Senators in hockey to the Saskatchewan Roughriders and Philadelphia Eagles in football. We talk about home life, stuff on TV, things on the radio, music, books and more.

    We both write, and have posted a large amount of fiction here on this blog with the Hard Road, Black Mask & Pale Rider and Canyons of Steel.

    What caught our eye yesterday will be completely different from what might catch our eye tomorrow.

     
  3. Zodi

    April 9, 2009 at 11:56 am

    Like Tim said we pay attention to everything. I rely on Tim to give me the news stuff and when he blogs something usually I’ll do a hijack and throw in my 10 pennies worth. Two cents just isn’t enough.

    There are lots of things that we deal with personally. Like my blog about my holy terror. Or if my boyfriend pisses me off. Writing blogs is a way for me to express myself in a way that is verbal, but not vocal.

    Thanks for check out our blog. We appreciate it. Check back often! ❤

     

Leave a comment