RSS

You Outta Be In Pictures

08 Dec

I’ve really taken to snapping photos a lot lately. Not only is it a part of my job, but it truly is a wonderful hobby. And to think, my experience with digital cameras did not start that long ago.

My first digital camera was the Samsung Digimax D53. A pretty decent camera for simple point and click portrait pictures. I found that scenic shots came out great with this camera. It’s easy to use, and easy to transfer photos onto your computer for editing purposes, whether you have a simple photo manipulation program or are an expert Photoshop user. Light weight and easy to hold, this camera has the basic features needed to capture some very good shots.

With a high resolution image that it produces and a 2.4 inch LCD screen, that was just the beginning of what originally sold it for me. The 5 megapixel quality also was a selling point. But the camera had it’s share of problems for me.

I always found I had to remove the batteries, or even when turned off, it would drain the energy from them. It went through a pair of AA batteries like nothing. And the Energizer Rechargable batteries weren’t much of a help. There was one last problem. I take a lot of photos at the local hockey arena. And this camera just wasn’t up to the task. The photos would come out extremely blurry, and in some cases, motion blur filled the image.

I had to find something else.

After a long talk with a friend, she suggested I look at the Kodak line of digital cameras. So I did. I found the Kodak EasyShare Z812 IS. Compact, just like the Samsung, but it has so much more.

A 12X zoom, plus 8.2 megapixel resolution, this camera could also take the photos my Samsung was lacking in. Action shots. This camera also comes with a rechargable Li-Ion battery, and replaceable batteries are cheap. As well, it can handle a pair of AA batteries in a pinch.

As you can see, there is a slight difference in quality in the images taken. The top photo is of the Samsung Digimax D53, taken with the Kodak. While below, is the Kodak EasyShare Z812 IS, taken with the Samsung. Even before I began cropping down the images, I noticed a slight difference. The mug shot, that was taken with the Z812.

The nice thing about both cameras is they take the SD flash card. I already had one for the Samsung, so switching it over to the Kodak was no problem at all. I haven’t field tested the Kodak as much as I have the Digimax, but I hope that I’ll see an improvement. The Ice Hawks play at home to the Elrose Aces tonight, so I might just get a chance to see the camera in action.

Point. Click. Photo.

Until next time…

Keep ’em flyin’.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on December 8, 2007 in photos, randomness, Sports

 

Tags: ,

Leave a comment