RSS

In with the old…

10 Jan

2007 is now officially in the bag, and now we’re onto 2008. A lot has happened. Some good, some bad. There are recaps to be had, but other news agencies do this better than I do.

Video

Still a bit shaken up that the kid who cried over Britney Spears was one of the most watched YouTube videos. I mean, seriously, Dramatic Gopher (yes, gopher, not prairie dog) was so much better than the guy who put out that video. In that same area, however, I liked the contest put on by Sony to find the best Viral Video. Using some of the webs top celebrities, and getting them to produce a short film was fun to watch.

Sports

It was with great mourning that by June of 2007, the Ottawa Senators fell to the Mighty Ducks, losing in five games. I’m hoping this year they can climb over that hump and win the Stanley Cup. November made up for it, however, when the Saskatchewan Roughriders won the Grey Cup, beating the Winnipeg Blue Bombers 23-19. Now they just need to repeat and all will be well.

New England Patriots ended the year with a perfect 16-0 record in the regular season. Sorry, don’t go handing out the Super Bowl just yet. They still have three playoff games to play, and has been said, the playoffs are a completely different season. But don’t be surprised if they do win, the NFL seems very predictable.

Baseball was rocked when allegations began floating around about steroid use. Now, big names are getting finger pointed, including slugger king Barry Bonds, and ace pitcher Roger Clements.

News

It was out with the old and in with the new this year, as Brad Wall, leader of the Saskatchewan Party became Saskatchewan’s new premier. Just in time for the Grey Cup, too. Things have not been easy for the new premier, but then, it never is for a newly elected government in Saskatchewan. At least he managed to win his bet with Manitoba Premier Gary Doer for the Grey Cup, er, Banjo Bowl. No, Grey Cup was right.

2007 wasn’t the kindest of years, especially to the Canadian military, and especially to those men and women who served overseas in Afghanistan. The death toll in the war torn country continued to rise. And hoping that we could escape another year without another police shooting, an RCMP office was gunned down in the Territories.

Personal

2007 marked the beginning of this blog, and also marked the beginning of some more serious prose work that I’ve done. Canyons of Steel has been coming along slowly, but I intend to add to it as 2008 unfolds. I’ve also been concentrating on artwork in my spare time as well, and have posted a great deal (including photos) at deviantART (to the right and to the left are pieces that I’ve done). This just means that a lot of my own writing will come out more slowly, as I concentrate on artwork, and a new project I’m toying with that’s coming in the works. I’m setting a deadline for myself of July first to have the first drafts done and ready. Hopefully by July 1st, 2009 I’ll begin seriously posting some of it. Along the lines of Canyons of Steel, except this is a comic book story. I’ve always had an interest in Richard Comely’s Captain Canuck series and I created my own patriotic super hero, called Canadiens.

2008 should be an interesting year.

Until next time…

Keep ’em flyin’.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on January 10, 2008 in photos, randomness, Sports

 

Tags: , , ,

Leave a comment