RSS

Wild Horse Canyon – A good wine to finish off a story

22 Feb

whc_cabsauv06About a year ago, I saw this wine in Saskatoon.  It’s called Wild Horse Canyon.  It reminded me of some of the writing I’d been doing that was a sort of western style.  This was before I began Adventures of Black Mask & Pale Rider.  But, I thought it would be a nice treat to pick up a bottle in celebration of the completion of a novel.  This was back when I started Canyons of Steel, another western which has remained untouched for a while.  I eventually will get back to it.  Last year, Pearce and I picked up a bottle of Wild Horse Canyon just to try and were quite impressed.

Just today, I opened up a bottle of Cabernet Sauignon 2006 that I had bought almost a year ago.  This is what the website says of the wine.

Our Cabernet Sauvignon opens with a lively nose of black currant and ripe berries. Flavours of ripe cherries, a hint of liquorice and vanilla are framed nicely by subtle oak.

I found it a very bold wine, with little after taste.  It went down smooth and had a very inviting aroma when I uncorked the bottle.  I find the red wines much more to my liking, and this one I definitely recommend.  To give you an idea of what Wild Horse Canyon is all about, check out their website.  Here’s a sampling of what they have to say about themselves.

Our Winemaker works with the best from British Columbia, Washington and California in order to craft the perfect wines. Each region is selected because of its different and special soils, climate and attributes. The results are balanced, fruit-forward wines: lush robust reds, and clean refreshing whites.

Our winery is named in honour of the wild horses which can still be found today in California, Washington and British Columbia.

Until next time…

…keep ’em flyin’.

 
1 Comment

Posted by on February 22, 2009 in Black Mask and Pale Rider, photos, randomness

 

Tags:

One response to “Wild Horse Canyon – A good wine to finish off a story

  1. Tyrell Abdur

    May 8, 2010 at 9:35 pm

    Hey there, I was just traveling the web and came across your blog. Thought I’d say hi and tell you that I’ve enjoyed my visit here, hope you have a fantastic evening !

     

Leave a comment