RSS

Writing Erotica Is Hard

12 Apr

Sure stuff like this comes easy to some people but for me it’s a challenge. Writing sex scenes and trying to come up with various ways to describe the female and male reproductive organs and not sound clinical is a chore unto itself.  Also trying not to sound vulgar and use slang terms for said organs is difficult too.

Writing lesbian erotica is harder than writing heterosexual. I’m sure the same can be said about writing gay erotica too. You have to use the characters names frequently to keep who is doing what to whom. This doesn’t even being to cover what has to be done to describe things that are going on.  You’ll find any time I am writing up something that I have open an on-line dictionary, a table top dictionary, and several different thesauruses to help me use fancy words.

Setting is also a biiiiiig factor in writing as well. You can’t just open a story and have the characters doing their thing without giving a painted description throughout the whole thing. Granted this is probably the easiest part of writing in general. Dialogue is helpful to break up the moans and grunts of the two (or more) characters who are enjoying each other. But you have to be careful because of the fact it can take away from the story if not written correctly.

But on a whole for my first attempt at writing an erotic story, I am enjoying myself. I’ve been given many compliments and suggestions from people I have shared snippets with or even the whole unfinished story.

Pip Ballantine pointed out a few things that were confusing in the start of my story. Point of view. If you are writing in first person, then make sure you have the gender of the main character appear somewhere in there so that readers know “oh hey so and so is a girl” or “okay got he’s totally a guy.” Another bit she pointed out was something with the scene I described. The angle I visioned was different from the one that she seen in her head. It only takes a few minutes to check and double check these tiny little details, but it makes a big difference on the way the story as a whole is read.

On a whole she said it was “Damn enjoyable” And “In fact damn sexy.” When I received her email replying back to my story my whole night was made. I was so excited that someone I don’t know really really really enjoyed the naughty story I am working. Thanks Pip. I’ll send you the whole thing when it’s finished.

I don’t think I will write much in the way of erotica. But once in a while I’ll take a swing at it.

For now I’ll leave you with a small excerpt of what I’ve written so far. I give you warning its still in rough draft phase. So go easy on me.

My steps were silent as I approached her desk from behind. A wry smile on my lips as I gazed at my lover. While Pania waited for the file to upload to the main system, she unbuttoned several buttons on her blouse. Once again my loins throbbed with want. I stepped behind her, pulling a small silk blindfold from my pocket and slipped it over her eyes while her fingers were distracted.

Pania let out a soft gasp as her world became dark. Her hands came up in attempts to pull the blindfold off her eyes. My fingers quickly tied the blindfold securely in place, brushing her hands away. The brief skin contact sent a small shock through my body; visions filled my head of what it would feel like if I had her naked body pressed against mine. I sighed softly feeling a damp sensation between my thighs.

Keep it real and rockin’

 
3 Comments

Posted by on April 12, 2009 in Opinion, Writing

 

Tags: , ,

3 responses to “Writing Erotica Is Hard

  1. fantasiaspillowtalk

    April 13, 2009 at 7:46 pm

    Welcome to the genre. May I ask why you wanted to try your hand at Erotica?

     
  2. Zodi

    April 14, 2009 at 6:42 am

    I guess the biggest reason I wanted to try writing it was to see if I could do it, and do it well. Writing in general is difficult for me. I always worry that someone is going to rake me over the coals and tell me never to write again. So writing some thing like Erotica gives me a bigger challenge in writing because of it being a very intimate situation.

    Another reason is the character that the story involves have a tendency to throw pictures in my head for me to describe. They are very much in love with each other, but are still very lust-filled in a way that makes their love making almost animalistic. The passion these two characters have is something I wanted to share with people, because it isn’t just in the bedroom these two characters are like this. Even on their adventures, these two throw the innuendos at each other, do the gentle touches and kisses. They need each other in a sense.

     
  3. fantasiaspillowtalk

    April 18, 2009 at 3:42 pm

    It’s good to challenge yourself. You will find a comfort level – the key then is to challenge yourself again. Visit my blog sometime. Let me know what you think.

     

Leave a comment