RSS

Beta-reading and Editing

18 Apr

I’m not a professional proofreader, nor a professional editor. I do it all for free and for fun.

Why?

I do it because I enjoy reading a good and well-written story. I also understand that sometimes, even after you put the story down, you can’t find all the mistakes yourself. This is human nature, not finding simple mistakes in a piece of work you’ve written.

James Melzer, author of the The Zombie Chronicles, put his book away for a little while, then sat in a pizza place or a coffee shop and edited his own work. Impressive that he had the patience to do this. His book is coming out this year, he also has publishers and editors who can find the stuff he needs to produce an awesome book.  If you’ve kept up with James’ blog and podcast, you would know that everything he reads to us is first draft. Having the publishing deal and the book coming out, he doesn’t exactly have time to wait for his friends and family to read over it make grammar and spelling checks.

I know when I was reading through the PDFs, there were several typos, and grammatical errors that I found. This was before I knew that it was first draft. Once I seen it was first draft, I stopped reading the PDFs because my instant corrector would kick in and I didn’t want to offend him by saying “Yo, you spelled some things wrong.” Keep in mind this was also before I was a huge fan girl.

For those of us who don’t have a publishing deal, we rely on beta readers.  Friends and family who was hope give us the dead honest truth and point out our mistakes. This is where I come in. I’m a beta-reader. People ask me to read over their stuff and point out mistakes. But when it comes to my work, I don’t touch it. I ask a my own friends to go over my stuff and point out how badly I write.

If you’ve read one of my previous posts, you can see how much further I have come in just a few years time. Learning and relearning grammar and punctuation is time consuming and even infuriating at times. For some people it comes naturally, for me not so much. I know the basics; when to use a comma, period, apostrophe. I recently learned how to correctly use ellipses (…, ….) and a semicolon. The semicolon I’m still learning, so I probably have used them wrong. But the point is I’m using them, whereas before I wasn’t using them at all.

Two of the story I am beta reading for are Tim’s Black Mask and Pale Rider, which you can find on our blog by clicking on the Other Worlds page. Tim’s favorite unconscious writing thing to do is start a sentence with ‘And.’ I tease him about all the time, and he has gotten better about it. However, Tim writes like his brain thinks. He doesn’t focus on everything being correct first time round. Many a time he’s told me “that’s for second draft.”

He and I go through chapter by chapter and correct everything. He’ll laugh at my snarky comments, or tell me if he doesn’t agree with something.  Fair enough. What matters is that he is happy with the final product.

The other book I am beta-reading is one by Moondancer Drake that she is hoping to mainstream. So far I’m five chapters and hooked on the main characters. Just because I favor her characters, doesn’t mean that I’m going to be any more gentle. When Moon asked me to beta-read, I told her exactly what my comments would be like. I even explained to her that I am a smart ass about some of the more silly ones. However, I have a bit more professionalism towards her work because I don’t know how she will react to some comments. The last thing I want to do is offend someone.

I’m honest about the stuff I read, I couldn’t lie to a friend and tell them “yeah sure you can get this published,” if I didn’t enjoy it. Sure, it’s my opinion but a good friend values their friends opinions right? I do what I can to point out misspellings, punctuations, and sentence structures. I do not suggest using me a final beta-reader, maybe a first, second or third reader. If you want a really good thorough examination and to really have your work ripped to shreds get an English major to look your work over. Trust me you’ll cry when you see how much needs to be redone.

Some good things to keep on hand when you are editing are a dictionary and thesaurus. If you want some quick tips to learn some common grammatical errors, please go listen to Grammar Girl. I’ve learned loads from her like who and whom, the over use of of and many other things that people commonly misuse.

You can also find many grammar websites on the Great Internets.  Just Google grammar tips. Also use your spellchecker, it is your friend.

Keep it real and rockin’

Ps. I bet you there are tons of grammatical errors on this page alone.

Tim’s hijack and Zodi’s hijack of a hijack

Ya know, I was gonna write a simple comment, but I’m totally cool with simply hijacking Zodi’s blog. I told you to hijack it.

She’s not wrong when she says that she’s brutally honest.  And(You did that on purpose.) in truth, it is because we’re good friends.  She doesn’t sugar coat something if there’s a problem, and she knows that I don’t want accolades for my writing.  I already know she’s a fan of Black Mask & Pale Rider and of my Canyons of Steel series (maybe I should do something about the latter, huh?)(One thing at a time dear, you aren’t going back to CoS until BMPR is done and complete.) So I don’t need to hear more about how she loved it. (Yet I still tell you.) What I want is to hear how much better it’ll sound when I fix errors, detail things a bit better, make things flow more correctly.  I would rather have that then a pat on the back.  I already got that back when I finished the first draft when James Melzer told me to crack that bottle of wine, when E.G. Talbot congratulated me for the work done.

The work isn’t over.  The first two chapters in Black Mask & Pale Rider are now past second edits, and I don’t expect that to be the last.  I think I may have mentioned it before, but I spoke with Mercedes Lackey a while back about writing and I asked her about her very first book she wrote.  She said that it didn’t go to press until she had completed 17 drafts of it. (I’m not doing this 17 times. Sorry but if we have to do this more than 5 times between the two of us, you’ll be told to kiss it. Even fangirl editors have their limits.) That’s a lot of work, (Toooooo much) and if I expect to create something which is worth a look by a publisher, then I can’t be satisfied with just a first draft. (Yet I’m content I know I got something written.) I know there’s a lot of work to come, and thanks to Zodi, that work just gets more and more easy. (I’ll take my payment in for of CoH cards and booster packs 😉 Kidding of course.)

Until next time…

…keep ’em flyin’! Real and rockin’ too

PSS. Check out the comments, you’ll see one of the things I came across while editing BM & PR. Also feel free to leave one.

 
5 Comments

Posted by on April 18, 2009 in Opinion, Writing

 

Tags: , ,

5 responses to “Beta-reading and Editing

  1. Jenny Bean

    April 18, 2009 at 10:00 am

    I actually have a great group of online writers I workshop with. I have a total of three people I know I can count on for extreme, grit and all honesty and tact, and that means more than you could imagine as a writer. Writing and improving on every draft is like the evolution of Frank’s skeleton to human reformation in Hellraiser. 🙂

     
  2. Zodi

    April 18, 2009 at 10:10 am

    There are times I’m down right tactless. Especially with Tim. He got me with a paragraph once that nearly ended my editing for his stuff. Tim had 5 sentences that started with ‘and.’ I wanted to kill him. Right Tim?

    Edit: The Offending Paragraph.

     
  3. Moondancerdrake

    April 18, 2009 at 12:55 pm

    I’m looking forward to getting to those first rounds of Zodi edits too, soon as the kids are back in school Monday and I have time to myself. This weekend is promo time (hate promo, would rather be writing). I agree, overly gentle betas are less than useful. I’ve had some like that, and while they are nice people, I don’t ask them to beta twice. Neither do I like people who are just plain mean about their comments.

     
  4. James Melzer

    April 18, 2009 at 5:28 pm

    Zodi, Zodi, Zodi…I love your brutal truth and honesty. However I would like to share something with you regarding my editing process.

    First, I write the book. Then, I let it sit for a month or so. After that I pull it out of the confines of its cell and proceed to hack it to death 🙂 Then it goes to my own personal editor and we proceed to hack it to death some more. While it’s in her hands…I also give it to friends and family to read to give me their thoughts because yes, I do have the time for that. Permuted Press just wants me to submit the best book I can, so having as many trusting eyes as possible to go over it is always a plus. They are a small press though, so I don’t think I would have that time or luxury with a larger publishing house to do that.

    Editing, as you know, is a team effort so I just wanted to shed a bit more light as to what my process is like. Once it’s been edited by me, my editor and I’ve gotten the opinions of close friends, it will go to Permuted and soon thereafter…the presses.

    Hopefully 🙂

     
  5. Zodi

    April 18, 2009 at 5:39 pm

    I totally stand corrected. Apologies for the misconception.

     

Leave a comment