RSS

Dontcha Wish Ya Girlfriend Could Cook Like Me

19 Apr

Alright folks, here goes. Over the next week, I am going to be producing some nommy foods and I’m going to blog about them. I will also be putting the recipe to go along with it so that people can try it on their own. These won’t be boxed meals. They will be simple  and easy dishes that anyone can make. Most of the desserts I make from a box, I will however not be doing that this week. Instead I am going to make them from scratch, except for the first featured item. I’ll do my best to convert them so that those don’t use American measurements can make it as well.

First on my list of nommy’s is a Pound Cake

poundcake This pound cake is remarkably simple to make.  Pound cake is a dense cake and and not to be eaten in large amounts.

The term Pound Cake comes from the way the cake is made. American southern style, like the above picture, is made using one pound each of flour, eggs, butter and sugar. I used Betty Crocker Pound Cake mix and learned the hard that this cake was far too sweet with it’s basic sugar and caramel glaze.

The following recipe is taken from Paula Deen, who is one of my favorite chefs. I was lazy and used box mix and realized all too late, that it would have tasted better if I would have made it rom scratch.

1/2 pound (2 sticks) butter, plus more for pan
1/2 cup vegetable shortening
3 cups sugar
5 eggs
3 cups all-purpose flour, plus more for pan
1/2 teaspoon fine salt
1/2 teaspoon baking powder
1 cup milk
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
Preheat oven to 350 degrees F.

With a mixer, cream butter and shortening together. Add sugar, a little at a time. Add eggs, 1 at a time, beating after each addition. Stir dry ingredients together in a bowl and add to mixer alternately with milk, starting with the flour and ending with the flour. Mix in vanilla. Pour into a greased and floured tube pan and bake for 1 to 1 1/2 hours, until a toothpick inserted in the center of the cake comes out clean.

Be careful when adding the dry ingredients, they usually end up messy. You should also make sure that you have a rubber spatula on hand to scrape the sides.

9605tube_panloafpanTube pans are great, especially if you have a fluted one (left.) If you don’t own one of these, you can simple go to the store and purchase disposable loaf pans (right.) These are relatively inexpensive ranging about two to three dollars for a pack of three medium size pans.

For the glaze I used 10x sugar, or powdered sugar, this is completely optional. Like I said this cake was way too sweet with it.

1/2 cup of 10x sugar
2 TBSP of warmed milk

Warm milk will help the sugar dissolve better. For the caramel I use just standared caramel you can purchase where the ice cream toppings are made.

More times than not, a pound cake is better with a lemon glaze. Here is a simple lemon glaze to use instead of the boring tooth rotter I made up.

1 c. confectioners’ sugar
1 tbsp. vegetable oil
1/4 tsp. salt
1/2 tsp. lemon flavor
2 to 3 tbsp. hot water

Mix well.

I do hope you enjoy this cake as much as I do, and stay tuned tomorrow for another Zodi cooked meal. It will be a yummy meal for certain. Do I know what it is yet? Nope. Won’t know until I make it.

Keep it real and rockin’

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on April 19, 2009 in Food and Drink

 

Leave a comment