RSS

These Are A Few Of My Favorite Sites

09 Jul

Have you ever clicked on Lolcats and looked to the right side. You usually see advertisements. But have you actually clicked them? Probably not. However, they appeal to me.

Why?

Because I am a female who likes shiny objects. I like jewelry, and shoes and clothes. For the most part, I am a full-figured woman so I can’t wear the clothes. They just don’t come in fat ass. As much as I would love to see sizes bigger than small, medium, large and x-large, it just doesn’t happen as much as I would like.

This doesn’t stop me from drooling over other little goodies. I like unique jewelry. Preferably metal and sort of steampunk-ish. For that I tend to look at  Leviticus Jewelry and Clockwork Zero. There are several other steampunk jeweler’s out there and their stuff is amazingly well done. But being female, I demand a certain amount of shine and sparkle.

Sure the pictures give the fix I need when I want to look at jewelry, but the prices sometimes curb my dealings. This isn’t to say they aren’t inexpensive, because the prices range from $15.00 to $100 give or take a few dollars. The quality of work is simply exquisite. Eventually, I will have enough money to get my wish list sorted out.

For clothes and shoes, I look to Mod Cloth. The style of clothes ranges throughout the eras. Classic 1940’s to the Wacky 1980’s. The shoes follow in suit and you can always find a great look to match any day. While their sizes run smaller than me, it’s still nice to look at in hopes of one day being able to purchase some clothes from there.  They also have some great and funny accessories/ decor. Things like High-top socks and Space Invader ice trays. Clever items to make people laugh when they come to visit.

Another clothing and shoe site I visit is Plasticland. They also specialize in retro and vintage style clothing and shoes. They have a large selection of goodies as well as Mod Cloth. However there are differences in between the two sites. For example, Plasticland gives an arts and crafts section for those who want to learn how to knit, or crochet their own stuff. This isa growing trend that I have notice seems to be coming back strong with the younger people of today.

All in all as long as these few sites keep pulling my attention from reading lolcats they totally have me as a browser. And one day I may just be able to buy the 1940’s inspired mary janes from Plasticland or the Aster Beret at Modcloth. But of course I would have to get jewelry, specifically The Hanging Keys from Leviticus and Silver Black Star Earrings over at Clockwork Zero’s..

If it’s one thing that keeps people coming back is unique designs and being able to have something that someone else doesn’t. I am no different. I love being different and unique but not tacky. There’s a difference between tacky and tasteful. I perfer the latter.

Keep it real and rockin’

 
1 Comment

Posted by on July 9, 2009 in Opinion, randomness

 

Tags: , , , ,

One response to “These Are A Few Of My Favorite Sites

  1. Jenny

    July 9, 2009 at 4:50 pm

    I love unique designs, especially when it comes to jewelry. I haven’t had the extra cash to shop for jewelry in awhile, but when I do, there is a place I love called Badali. The crafters are Badali design their own unique pieces and they are so gorgeous.

     

Leave a comment