RSS

Finally, it’s in my hands

13 Jul

After nearly a complete month of government red tape, I finally have it.  I finally have my passpot in my hot little hands.

Passport Canada WebsiteLet me detail the process of this quest.  Thanks to events of September 11, 2001, new security measures have taken place between what was at one time classed as the world’s largest undefended border.  Technically it still is, but now you just need a passport in order to drive across it.  The first step was to gather the information to start getting the process going.  First off, Passport Canada’s Website.  There, I found locations of where I could drop off the necessary forms.  Saskatoon has one location.  Outlook doesn’t have any.  Which meant I needed to drive.  And yes, I could have done this online and paid by credit card, but I don’t have one of those things.

Passport Canada does have a good number of forms which you can download direct from their site, which was good for me.  I down loaded the handy pdf file, printed it off to read it (I’m one of those weird people that likes to read things on paper, I blame age, and the need for glasses).  After reading it over, I went through the process of filling it out, which included getting the signatures from people to say that yes, I am who I say I am.  Once that was all done, my trips to the city began.

Yes, I said trips.

Three, to be exact.

The paperworkThe first time, there was a small issue with the paperwork, so I had to go back and have a friend who helped out to resign some information, only to be told that no, he didn’t have a passport for two years.  In order for me to get a passport, I need someone who has had a passport for two years to vouch for me.  Very hard to find someone like that when most everyone I knew didn’t need one until now, because most everyone I know spends their winters in the States.  But needless to say, I found one.

Once that was taken care off, it was one more time into the city.  It was getting very close, like a week.  But, the clerk behind the counter said the magic words.

“For an extra thirty dollars, we can push this through and you’ll get it on Monday, July 13th.”

It’s absolutely amazing how we as human beings will go forth and willingly pay more money, without question, just to get something done.  So, I pay the extra money, and the waiting game begins.

Ta-Da!  There it is!That brings us to today.

Today was a simple transaction.  I produced the receipt, I got my passport.  It was a done deal.  With the help of Zodi, a route has been planned.  So starting tomorrow, I’ll post information when I make stops along the way.  Assuming I get an internet connection, that is.  Or, I’ll have Zodi do it!

Until Minot…

…keep ’em flyin’!

Zodi Highjack

Having been through the passport process myself, I know what a hassle it is. I made sure that I had it well enough in advanced before I went to England. I even gave Tim a bit of insight on how the States worked theirs.  I did tell Tim that it takes a while, and even told him to get started on it months in advance just incase things prevented it. Of course, I knew there would issues that cropped up. Sometimes the government can be a bit anal when it comes to perfection.

So originally Tim was supposed to have left at oh my god o’ clock to arrive here tomorrow. This didn’t happen. He had his car in the shop on Friday for it’s inspection to make sure it was safe to make the 1500 mile trip down to visit me. I was okay with this. Seeing as I want him safe while driving, and not getting stuck on the side of the road. Today Tim went up to the city to retrieve his passport. I squeed a little.

He made his phone calls, set up things so that he wouldn’t have to worry about them while he is away. All was great, trip was set to happen a day later. Tim was supposed to leave at 3 am his time on the 14th, 5 am for me. But as bills come around and tend to steal our money without us even knowing it at times, Tim had a slight problem. That was lack of gas money. I would rather him a day late, then stuck on the road out of gas and probably panicking.

Soooooo with a slight bit of disappointment (which I think I hid pretty well), but a great deal of understanding, we planned the trip to start on Wednesday at oh my god o’clock, and for him to be here on Thursday. Which back in May when all of this started to fall into place, was the original arrival date. Either way I’m still super excited, and anticipating a great deal of fun while Tim is here and I made him promise he wasn’t going to push the date back any further.

Better late than never

Keep it real and rockin’

PS: Service Canada should pull their heads out of their butts on the strictness of photo size.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on July 13, 2009 in Life, photos, randomness, Zodi/Tim hijack

 

Tags:

Leave a comment