RSS

Koko Kiwi

03 Nov

100_1904Back in July I got a new kitten. She was mostly white with spots of calico in her.  She was only a few months old when Boyfriend scooped her up from the cat food pile she was eating from. Koko was a farm cat but then became my cat. That night I brought her home and introduced her to the life of a domesticated cat. She adapted pretty well to the lifestyles.

But then she got sick.

100_1900At first we didn’t know what was wrong but carefully nursed her back to health, she was soon chasing toys around and climbing up things. And she grew.  That all stopped the second time she got sick. She stopped eating, drinking, playing. Everything a cat would normally do. We planned on taking her to the vet, but tried to nurse her back again since we really couldn’t afford to take her. Eventually she got better.

100_1891She had muscles again, her fur looked healthy and she played more. As October rolled around Koko started to get sick again. So once more I began to treat her with lots of love, and gave her wet food and milk hoping that she would bounce back.

Over the weekend I notice no matter what I did my house smelled off. Sickly sweet smell that only meant one thing to me. Death was lurking near by. I didn’t think it was anything, but still kept an eye on everyone in my house as a just in case. This included my cats. I think it was my careful eye that kept death from striking while I was home.

100_1892Monday I went to work, now I was already shook because I discovered a friend of mine was killed. (blog post on this later.) I shook it off and was able to go through my day. I came home and the sickly sweet smell was so potent I felt like screaming. My whole house reeked of it. I cleaned up the accidents that Koko had and then went to find her.

100_1884I found her in my room and thought she was asleep. Koko was always a deep sleeper, so I shook her. She didn’t wake up. Panic set in and I started to cry as I stopped and felt her. Cold. She wasn’t stiff so she couldn’t have been gone for more than an hour.

I was supposed to take her to the vet today. I didn’t care how much it was going to cost me, I was going to get my kitten better. She had been dwarfed by this illness and would have remained a kitten forever. It takes a lot for an animal to affect me deeply like Koko did. It was immediate love. As soon as I seen her I felt in love with her.

I know many people wouldn’t understand the bond I have with my pets but there are very few animals that impact my life enough that I am left heart broken over. So far there have only ever been three.

I miss my Koko Kiwi, she was a beautiful kitten and she will be missed.

Next kitten that comes in will go to vet regularly. I’m not messing around anymore.  I don’t think my heart can take another break in it.

Rest In Peace Koko. I love you.

Keep it real and rockin’

Zodi’s Kitty Playing With Lazer

 
1 Comment

Posted by on November 3, 2009 in Life

 

Tags: , , ,

One response to “Koko Kiwi

  1. aunt deedee

    November 3, 2009 at 8:01 am

    Send big hugs to my sweet neice!oxoxoxo

     

Leave a comment