RSS

Freakin’ BRRRRR!

04 Dec

A week or so ago, I mentioned how it didn’t look that much like winter outside.

I should have kept my big yap shut.

What went from unseasonably high temperatures for the month of November have turned to bitter cold for the month of December.  Oh, and it snowed.  Add to that the joy of scraping ice and frost off the car windshield each morning.  I’m not going to post a picture up, because on the one hand, while it looks like a festive winter wonderland with all the homes decked out with lights and snow on the ground and trees and looking all pristine and white, it’s really the equivilent to the Hell plane of Cania (a cookie for D&D reference).  I want to keep people safe from the horror I had to witness this morning.  Not scary horror like Halloween.  Michael Bay explosion horror!

I got into work this morning with only bundling and bagging of papers to do, then head out on my deliveries.  I didn’t have a chance to check the weather like I do any other morning.  Not that I’m rushed, I just want to get in early and do my work.  Well, I get into work, feeling the cold creep into my bones after sitting on a cold car seat on the way to work, which I’m sure is going to add to a future hemeroid problem, and I decide to check out Environment Canada Weather Office.  It was -17 Celsius this morning.  For those that don’t know Celsius, that’s 1 F.  And the really bad thing, Environment Canada says that these temperatures are actually BELOW normal.  Yes, I will say it again, bold faced and italicized.  BELOW NORMAL.

I honestly remember winters like this.  A lot of winters like this, when I was a kid.  Lots of snow, cold and strong wind.  I was often bundled up so tight that I didn’t actually walk, I waddled.  If I fell over, one of my friends just pushed me along until we got to our destination.  The good thing about that is we often took turns.

To those who say there’s global warming, come to Saskatchewan.  Sit yer ass in a beach chair and feel yer family jewels shrivel up.  Global warming my long john covered butt!  Oh wait, it’s more politically correct to say climate change.  Yeah, sure.  Climate changed back to the type of weather we had when I was a kid thirty years ago.

Until the ice thaws…

…keep ’em flyin’!

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on December 4, 2009 in Life, randomness, Rants

 

Tags: ,

Leave a comment