RSS

Christmas: It’s Finally Over and I Survived

28 Dec

It’s been a very crazy three months. Preparations for this holiday have been ridiculous. But somehow, I magically managed to make it through the season of hope and joy with little blood shed.

Last night was the final Christmas gathering. So without further ado allow me to recap.

Each year since I have moved out here, I end up having to appear at several different places for Christmas. This year first on the list was Donella’s house. Donella is my other mother, she my mom away from mom. Someone I can go to get a mom hug when I really need one.

Mid-morning on Christmas eve, we bundled up and went to her house. Which is all of 1000 feet from my apartment. Yeah she lives that close. Zachery, myself, Rhys, my brother and my dad pitched in to get her a a really nice candle and a candle warmer. She bought Zachery and I a seven piece hamper and storage set, and a collage style picture frame. My father received a foot massage pillow and my brother got a bed pillow and some other little items from her.

After that it was off to work. Yes, even though I requested off, I went in to make up hours I had missed. After five hours of work, it was back home to spend some time in front of my computer playing my game and then wrap gifts. I didn’t realize I had so many gifts left to wrap. I was up until 3:30 am wrapping gifts. Fun. Not.

Now my dad was in town and that was great having him around for the holidays, it almost felt normal. Dad’s girlfriend and her daughter stayed over. LGIB is the daughter. She was excited and had a hard time falling asleep.

So morning rolled around, and my son was ecstatic. Christmas had arrived, but I just didn’t feel it. A feeling I was used to, since I hadn’t felt it in several years, this one was no different. Except it started with an argument between between BF and I. Pffft. Lovely. Not wanting to discuss yet another argument between me and him, I’ll end this part and leave it with it lasted almost the whole day.

Once we got the webcam set up, so that Momma and Grams could tune in to watch us all open gifts, the wrapping paper started to fly. Rhys made out like bandit with the amount of gifts that he received, LGIB and her mom did as well.

The final gift was one for me. A sterling silver key pendant necklace. Boyfriend got it for me and I was crying because of it. He had told me that they were sold out and that he got me something else that he was sure I would like. Meanwhile, I thought to myself, you don’t know what I like in jewelry. Well the joke was on me. The store had sold out; he had gotten the last one.

The other favorite gift was a small glass Tinker Bell whose base says “May all your dreams come true.” Anyone who knows me knows I love faeries, pixies, and Tink. It was another gift that made me tear up as I opened it.

After all the presents were opened, Boyfriend and I had to get ready for Christmas number three. We arrived there late, as per tradition and had some food. Knowing full well that dad was home cooking Christmas supper, I didn’t eat too much. Once food was done, we trooped into the living room and the present opening began again.

From here I received, money, gift cards, Charmed seasons four and five and a few other little things that I am far to lazy to turn around and look at to list off. It was an enjoyable time. A few hours later, it was time to head home again for more food. Christmas dinner food. I was super excited about this.

It wasn’t as big as the meals that I’ve been to for Christmas before, but it was still a meal I was proud to be apart of because my family was together. We had ham, green beans, corn, homemade mashed potatoes, candied yams (yuck,) and of course pumpkin pie. The food was delicious, the ham was literally falling to pieces but it was just cooked perfectly.

It was a very enjoyable to sit and have my family with me, new and old.

The day after, was filled with watching Charmed and doing returns for the few items that we did have to return. After all of that was said done and over with, we had to venture out to boyfriend’s Aunt’s house for the final Christmas.

While at this house I am not a mom, I’m just another person and my son is free to do as he pleases. I try to be a mom and they undermine me, but I’m powerless to say anything. Why? Because they look down on me already and rather then goad them into getting pissy with me even more I just grin and bear it.

We had tons of gifts. Rhys of course made out like a bandit here too. The hottest gift of the night was the Bat-cave he got from Nan Nan. I received clothes, the damnable gift of underwear, which amused me to no end since they were three sizes too big for me. Socks, and candy a Tinker Bell keepsakes ornament and a gift card; which I used to purchase The Tudors Season Three.

So now that’s it’s over I’m looking forward to ending this year as it has been rough, but all in all not too bad.

With that I will leave you with this.

Keep it real and rockin’

Tim’s Hijack

Needless to say, I didn’t have as many stops this Christmas as I did in the past.  Christmas Eve, I drove to the city and spent time with Pearce, Gene, Val, Teresa, Jess and even Carol and a few others popped over.  We exchanged a few gifts, which means I have a whole slew of new movies to watch.  I love me some DVD’s.  There was also a large amount of food.  Over a year ago, I described one summer when Pearce and I devoured “a stupid amount of shrimp”.  Well, this was close.  It was amazing how much there was.

After the evening began to go past midnight, I crashed over at Pearce’s place after parking and plugging the car in behind Pearce’s BRAND NEW CAR, I had a good sleep.  I was extremely tired, and though I did want to see if I could connect the laptop to the wi-fi network at Pearce’s, I just fell into a blissful slumber.

The next day, Christmas day, to be precise, I drove over to mom and dad’s place.  And more food.  Festive conversation and a great meal (my folks are vegetarian, but can put on a really good spread, even without turkey or ham).  As the day went on, and I had a nap, it came time to say good bye and head back home.

This Christmas has been a lot more relaxing than Christmas in the past.  The car was a big help (though, the timing belt issue was scary).  I’m just glad I had the opportunity to spend it with friends and family.

So, in the words of the second official language of the nation in which I live…

Ayez Joyeux Noël et tout le meilleur dans le nouvel an.

Oh, and as always, until next time…

Gardez-les en volant!

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on December 28, 2009 in Family, Life

 

Tags: , , , , ,

Leave a comment