RSS

Lights out, uh-huh!

23 May

Forgive me for using the title of an old Peter Wolf tune, but it fit.

Recent storms in this area, which have included rain and heavy wind, have caused massive power outs.  While I’m not exactly dancin’ in the dark, with the recent power out, I learned just what exactly I couldn’t do.

Laundry?  Nope.  Power is needed to run the washer and dryer.  Which in this power out really ticked me off because laundry was what I was in the middle of when it went down.  This also means that vacuuming is out.

So is going to the bathroom.  Not many people know that it takes power to get water to refill the tank after a flush.  You have maybe one flush and then you’re pretty much going to go in continuously disgusting water, or hold it until the power comes back on.

Fortunately, this power out happened during the day, so my options were a little more open.  Such as reading a book, or playing solitaire.  With real cards, not on my computer.  Computers take power too.  Often I’ve had the power go out while I’m on the computer and thought “well, maybe I’ll watch TV… wait…”  Last week, power went out at work while I was in the middle of working on a file.  Needless to say, thanks to not saving, I ended up being filled with rage with only myself to blame.

Laptop? Sure, I could use a laptop.  No internet connection though.  My DSL is run with POWER, through an electrical outlet.  And during a power out, that can’t happen.  I did turn on my laptop, only to turn it off when I realized there was only ten minutes of battery life.

Can’t cook.  Can’t go out to eat, because you need power to pay for the food, which needs to be cooked and can’t because there’s no power.  See the circle of frustration.  The most I can do is read and play solitaire.  Unless the power goes out at night.  Which brings a whole new series of problems to the table.

The absence of light being one of them.  Yes, I do have a flash light, but thanks to me unwittingly moving my flash light to different areas of the apartment, I can never find it.  Candles do work, but I don’t have a whole lot of those.  I do have scented candles, though the thought of being in the dark and smelling like lilacs is rather disturbing.

Power’s back now, so that’s a good thing.  Time to resume my laundry, and pray that the power stays on.

Until next time…

…keep ’em flyin’.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on May 23, 2010 in Life, randomness

 

Tags: ,

Leave a comment