RSS

Summer moves into autumn

18 Aug

August is almost done with.  It has been a great summer thus far here in Outlook.  Even with all the rain.  The first two weeks of August, which also coincided with a nice time of relaxation, were also very warm.  The mixture of rain added to the humidity in the area, which can be a bit of a pain sometimes.  However, it gave me the chance to sit down and get caught up on some reading and on some writing.

one of my favorite series

Image by jen.young via Flickr

Sherlock Holmes

Image via Wikipedia

The reading included some of the books in the Jim Butcher Dresden Files series.  At some point in time I’m actually going to watch the series that has been airing.  I like to equate the Dresden Files like a new kind of hard core detective.  Like Mike Hammer had he investigated mystical crimes.

I also cracked open the Sherlock Holmes anthology that I bought recently, revisiting a lot of the stories I remember reading as a kid, and even some of the stories that I watched with the Jeremy Brett version of Sherlock Holmes.  I’ve yet to see the latest movie, but I’m going to at some point.

As I stated earlier, there is some writing that I’ve done as well.  Blood of the Moon, Flag on my Backpack and even the outlines for a Halloween story (just in time for October) staring Black Mask & Pale Rider.  Plus, I set up a site dedicate to just Flag on my Backpack, which runs a little more to the political at times, as that’s eventually how the story will take it’s turn.  Real life, social issues will be focused on, while the story will still contain a light feel to it, and somewhat campy at the same time.  By the time the end of August rolls around, I probably will be setting Blood of the Moon to the side for a little bit, as I’ve found it difficult to get moving.  There may be a re-evaluation of Chelsea and her co-stars that comes with the story, because I honestly don’t want to leave it hanging.

As the end of the month comes upon us, it is a bit disheartening.  The sun was setting at 10 o’clock at night and rising at 4 in the morning.  Now, it’s started setting at 9 and rising around 5.  Still that leaves a lot of sunlight hours in the day, but it’s also a reminder that soon the days will grow shorter and colder.  Hopefully we’ll get a nice, warm autumn out of the deal.  After all, this summer was much warmer than it was last year.

Until next time…

…keep ’em flyin’.

 

Tags: , , , , ,

Leave a comment