RSS

What was your favorite book as a child?

19 Jan

I had a lot of favourite books as a child.

Pan depicted on the cover of The Wind in the W...

Image via Wikipedia

I had a full collection of Hardy Boy mysteries and Nancy Drew mysteries that I kept tucked away. Big Richard Scarry books. And then there was Wind in the Willows.

I remember Mole and Ratty and Mr. Toad and Mr. Badger quite well. I even watched the television series. Plus I read the sequels to the book. It’s probably this combined with a long held memory of watching the Star Trek reruns on CBC that helped bring out what I’m writing with the Swift Fox and Rocket Fox series. A friend of mine read the story I wrote and said “it’s like Wind in the Willows meets Star Trek”. That comment made me smile.

Wind in the Willows still holds a pretty high place for me.

Ask me anything

 
2 Comments

Posted by on January 19, 2012 in Fun, randomness, The Barrow's Revenge

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

2 responses to “What was your favorite book as a child?

  1. Craig Wetzel

    January 19, 2012 at 8:27 am

    Although the book which thrilled me the most was Huckleberry Finn, the Wind in the Willows was on my short list of special books and still is. I read it every year and it has lost nothing with age. I recommend the “Annotated Wind in the Willows” for serious devotees, which I have recently discovered are quite numerous.

     

Leave a comment