RSS

Recent observations

20 Jul

Dog days of summer

Not really, but it’s kind of this lazy, laid back feeling of “meh” where one just doesn’t feel like doing anything right now.  Usually dog days refers to the listless lazy days of summer, and we are right in on that.  At work, we’re about two and a half weeks away from a shut down of our office for two weeks, which is alright.  This allows everyone to plan their holidays accordingly.  Me, I plan on parking it in a lawn chair somewhere.  Either on the beach at Elbow, or in the park her in Outlook, or maybe along the riverfront in Saskatoon.  Heck, I may even just park it on my balcony.

Be careful using short forms and abbreviations

One should always be careful to ensure that the proper short forms are used when writing them out.  Even the slip up of a url country code (as an example, .ca being for Canada) can send you some place you weren’t expecting.  Granted, some of those can end up being quite amusing.  Such as one of the short forms, or abbreviations for cubit meter.  It looks very different when read as cu. m.

News saturation

I don’t wanna get down on what happened last night in Aurora, Colorado.  And I don’t want to dwell on it.  Suffice it to say that 12 people are dead after some idiot decided it would be a good idea to pull a gun in the middle of a crowded theatre whilst watching the Dark Knight Rises and open fire.  Thanks to his (or her, I really don’t honestly know) incredible lunacy, 12 people are dead.  I don’t even give two twits what race, religion, gender, political leaning he is, because he (or she) killed 12 people.  I’m not even gonna make mention of the bastard’s name, because he’s not important.  He killed 12 people, and as far as I’m concerned, those 12 were far more important than some twat with a gun.

This morning at work we got into a bit of a discussion about how the news media treats stories like this, and I was going to write something about it.  But thanks to wilwheaton‘s tumblr, I don’t have to because Charlie Brooker did such a better job of it.  Watch more below.

Let’s hope that this isn’t given 24/7 news feeds for the next month, because I really don’t need to be kept reminded of during the summer.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on July 20, 2012 in Life, randomness

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

2 responses to “Recent observations

  1. Great Gary

    July 26, 2012 at 5:41 am

    i hate google

     
  2. Tim

    July 26, 2012 at 7:39 am

    That is the most random piece of spam I’ve ever seen. However, you’re admission of hatred for Google is your own opinion. I would use less harsh language because I’m not entirely sure if hatred is a word best suited. That is unless your hatred comes from some long, unsettled dispute. I guess we’ll never know, random poster. I guess we’ll never know.

     

Leave a comment