RSS

Morning music

02 Sep

I’m sure everyone gets this.  Wake up, there’s a song playing in your head for no reason.

I’ve had this happen a lot.  I especially had this happen a lot when I worked in radio.   Sadly, most of it was hurtin’ country or the “new” country that was being produced at the time (Travis Tritt, Marty Stuart, Garth Brooks, Suzy Boggus, and some Reba McIntyre).  This even happened when I used to have a radio alarm clock.  Sadly, the only station that I could get with any consistency was a Saskatoon country station or the CBC.  In that case, it was again hurtin’ country or something by Vivaldi.

It’s been a few years since I had my radio alarm clock.  I mashed the snooze button too much, and was resigned one fateful day to get a new one.  It just has an annoying, shrill beep.  This is often followed by my smartphone going off (which also has an annoying, shrill beep with an underscore of some techno beat).

But every so often, I’ll wake up with the weirdest music in my head.  I’ll think to myself “why the hell is that in my head”.  This morning was no different.

At one time, it would really bother me, because I know the piece of music, but I just can’t identify it.  Fortunately, I can search for it now.  Like this morning.

I don’t know why, but I had Arthur’s Theme by Christopher Cross.  It was part of the movie soundtrack for Arthur, which came out in the early to mid 1980’s.  The 80’s are usually associated with pop and hair metal bands, but the 80’s also produced a lot of soft rock stuff as well.

There’s no reason why that particular song came to mind this morning.  None at all.  It was most likely filed away in the back of my mind with the vast collection of albums, CDs, cassette tapes, and 45s that would make the CBC’s music collection look like a drop in the water.

In reality, I find it interesting why we have this happen to us.  Why, when we wake up, do we have these long forgotten pieces of music stick with us.  I tried to connect it to the dream I had, but it didn’t fit.  Considering I had a dream about Star Trek (probably because between playing for a couple of hours in Star Trek Online, I also watched a few episodes of Star Trek: Voyager).  So, it’s mostly random chance that the jukebox in my head picked that song to play as I woke up.

These are the things that I sometimes think about early in the morning.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on September 2, 2014 in Life, randomness

 

Tags: , , ,

Leave a comment