RSS

Ghost Stories: Fort San Sanitorium, Fort Qu’appelle, Saskatchewan

02 Oct

31 Days Of Ghosts

Fort San LodgePlans for the first sanatorium began in 1911 and it was to be built in Western Canada, called the Fort San sanitorium in Fort Qu’appelle, Saskatchewan. It was completed following the WWI. Many veterans came home with tuberculosis and were in need of treatment. 1919 saw the facility finally open, with returning soldiers occupying over half of the available beds.

In 1972, this western sanatorium closed its doors and it was sold to the provincial government for a dollar. In the eighties, the property began serving some use as a school of the arts and a convention center. It still operated at a deficit and the buildings began to fall apart. At this time the Department of National Defense agreed to move their Western Canadian Sea Cadet Training Program to the site, and the sanatorium had a new lease on life.

Today the place still displays the old-fashioned windows and hospital-white walls. This building remains one of the most haunted places in Saskatchewan. One of the first stories came from a man who had attended a summer music camp. On this day, the band members had gathered outside for practice. The young man forgot his music in his room and returned to retrieve it. As he was going through his baggage, he heard the sound of a woman singing. The woman’s voice was loud and clear and surprising, since this lodge was assigned to the men. The singing was accompanied with the sounds of running water. The young man walked over to the doorway and saw a woman, young and pretty in a conservative dark dress that fell past her knees. The taps were running, and as she washed, she was looking at her reflection in the mirror. The young man called out to her. “Excuse me? Lady? I think you are in the wrong lodge.” She gave no indication she had heard him. Instead of turning towards him, the woman backed away from the sink and out of his range of vision. He then entered the bathroom and she had vanished.

The sounds as if someone was dragging heavy chains and slamming doors while walking up and down the hallways can also be heard. One very common apparition at the Conference Center is known as “Nurse Jane,” or “Jane, the folding ghost”. She had been called the folding ghost as she was often seen folding linens. On other occasions, she seems content to push a wheelchair around the premises. According to folklore, Jane was a distraught nurse who committed suicide while working at the sanatorium. In the doorway at the end of a long hallway, a shadow of a wheelchair could be seen. The ghostly shadow was so distinct that it always drew someone down to investigate. By the time they’d reach the end of the hallway, the apparition would disappear.

 
78 Comments

Posted by on October 2, 2009 in 31 Days Of Ghosts, Ghost Stories, Weird facts

 

Tags: , ,

78 responses to “Ghost Stories: Fort San Sanitorium, Fort Qu’appelle, Saskatchewan

  1. Acadia

    October 2, 2009 at 5:40 pm

    I like you now – you are doing 31 somethings just like I am. So now I propose some sort of…31 things of things…partnership!

     
  2. tim h

    November 4, 2009 at 9:09 pm

    I attended a 2 week gt course for sea cadets in1995 there I have some stories. That summer I was there someone filmed a documentary and they had informed me I was staying in the operation room if anyone knows any info on that documentary and where to get it can u please contact me via email I wld appreciate it jst looking at old pics from this camp brings chills down my spine thank you!

     
  3. Hayleey

    January 11, 2010 at 3:05 pm

    can you email this page to me Please.

     
  4. Catherine C

    June 11, 2010 at 11:28 pm

    My younger brother had his wedding reception at Fort San, in the conference center. During the supper and also during the dance, children and adults alike kept asking who the nice lady standing by the bathroom was…When my brother and I investigated, the nice lady turned out to be a ghost. She was friendly and seemed to enjoy helping people find their way to the bathroom and then back to the dining and dance area. It was more interesting than disturbing when it happened!

     
  5. joseph reville

    June 26, 2010 at 2:43 pm

    are the original buildings still there, a couple years back, condo were being built r something, if it’s still intact I d like to return asap

     
  6. Tim

    June 27, 2010 at 12:33 am

    I’m not sure, but I know if you contact the town of Fort Qu’appelle, they might have a better idea and more information.

     
  7. Sarah

    July 28, 2010 at 2:12 pm

    me and my brothers go there like every year and we went to the childs word and i asked if anyone is here could you make a sounds please and we waiting and then a loud bang came from behind us and we took off lol.

     
  8. Preston

    August 2, 2010 at 3:31 am

    all of the original buildings are still there but it was recently bought buy someone, so i hear

     
  9. Lil Lilly

    September 30, 2010 at 12:01 pm

    i am doing a reporrt/project about ghosts of fort san. I would like to know more info. Please e mail me if u know any more info. bug_pb@hotmail.com. Thx! or e mail me if u know a nother web site.

     
  10. Manny

    October 12, 2010 at 10:18 pm

    My wifes uncle Pat Desnomie told me he was resting on a bed there when someone lifted his hand to check his pulse. when he opened his eyes his hand was up in the air and no one was there. then it placed his hand back down on his chest. he left the place shortly there after.

     
  11. Justin Bieber Lover

    October 13, 2010 at 10:59 am

    the ghosts of fort san are cool. i think that it is very awesome to have encountered with a ghost . i personaly have not but i have heard a lot of stories, and it sounds cool !!

     
  12. db

    October 22, 2010 at 7:19 pm

    I was a marching band teacher at Qu’Appelle, and I definitely had some strange experiences. I felt presences near the ward room; up on the hill (NW as I remember, of the residences), I saw shadowy outlines of people. In the music offices (the building where Nurse Jane hung herself), I was on the phone at night with my girlfriend, and heard all the doors in the music wing slam. I looked out in the hallway, and they were all open. When I left, the doors were all closed again. A great place, but very freaky to be.

     
  13. lyndon

    November 30, 2010 at 1:18 pm

    Are the buildings at fort san still up?????

     
  14. cory westermann

    December 20, 2010 at 6:41 pm

    I stayed on the winter. Of. 96. For a week. Not knowing other stories that happened. There were strange things that happened to all. Of us found my bed in middle of thje room. Woke up in the night I was froze couldn’t move I have never felt like that before. I never. Seen any thing but knew something was not right

     
  15. Paul

    December 24, 2010 at 1:19 am

    I went to Fort San a couple years back, and from what i seen, the buildings are not up.

    Couple Years back before that, the buildings were still up, we went all over Fort San, and Fort Quapple also, Went into the Santoruim place, and me having a 6 th sense, i immedity want out. I respect the dead well, and I wanted out of there to leave them be.

    For my advice, i would leave the land be, and do not drink the water thats there (If your camping there and fo purify it or something), and don’t take anything from there….

     
  16. patricia

    January 3, 2011 at 12:51 pm

    well i think this pretty freaky i was going go check this out on time but my grandpa wouldn’t take me there cause i was talking about for a long time but to me i wont believe this until i see it and then i will i think you guys are being to GLUBAL….like come on have you been in there? maybe not…

    (Edited for spelling by zodi)

     
  17. Dillonwerbeski

    February 6, 2011 at 12:49 am

    I really love fort san. To bad people had to abuse the place and soray paint everywhere. I love the features inside the building. The stairwells are very nice. Its still very sturdy. Except the very top floor. I almost fell through. The basement is very interesting. A bit of water. If anyone likes taking photos. I recommend going inside the building. Theres nothing scary about it. Ive been in there at night without flashlights. Just my camera flash to see where things were. And paul. Sorry to burst your bubble. Your such a fool. I dont know if there are two fort sans. But this one is still standing. Your losing it man.

     
  18. (s)lim-[s]hady

    June 9, 2011 at 7:12 pm

    I went out to for san quite a few times last summer, the first time I was there was the only overly creepy experience I had there. I went in with one other person that had been in the building before and we were on the 2nd floor I believe, and it was really cold. Im not entirely sure what room we went in as we had no flashlights, but I sat and spun around this chair, but when i stood up and walked out of the room it got super hot in an instant, other then that ive been in the crawlspaces in the basement, sat around and waited for “nurse jane” but nothing happened. we had more fun scaring friends then looking for ghosts. I even rememebr crawling in a elevator shaft with my one friend, its a tonof fun exploring that building. Most of the times we were out there we went with a couple of locals that new the place and I was really hoping to go back this summer, but they now have some security people watching the building and its really hard to sneak around them 😦

     
  19. Sarah Ridgway

    June 21, 2011 at 9:41 pm

    Well i will be going back to fort san this summer in july and im looking forward to hopefully exploring it this time and hopefully i wont get has scared and hopefully ill have people with me who arent scared. But i will be going there prepared ill have cameras voice recorders and more so im looking forward to be going there and i want to write a story or artical on fort san i have for awhile and when i get back i am looking forward to coming back here and sharing my stories 🙂 if you want me to look into anything for you just email me at sarah_ridgway-19@live.ca.

     
  20. Tim

    June 22, 2011 at 1:05 am

    If you find anything out, I’d be curious to see and or hear what you discovered.

     
  21. Sarah Ridgway

    July 17, 2011 at 3:16 am

    Okay well i go there on the 31st of this month so i will be back here with the news 🙂

     
  22. yvonne mack

    August 5, 2011 at 7:10 pm

    I have an original photo of this sanitorium!!!! It was taken by City Art Studio it a very old picture!!!

     
  23. Jordyn

    August 13, 2011 at 5:03 pm

    When i was 7 my mom attended a training session bringing along my sister and i. I returned to fort san just earlier today to look at it to find out its been fenced up and totally trashed, lucky for me and my dad that the gates were opened and the doors to the main building were opened aswell we took it as an opputunity to explore. a majotiry of the windows have been smashed, walla punctured, flooring ripped up, and beer cans everywhere. you cant walk without hearing glass crunch. its been totally vandalised and they plan on tearing it down. i got a picture on the old stage becuse when i was 7 i was in the daycare program there and i have a picture of me as a 7 yearold standing on that very stage minus all the broken glass and graffitti. By the way, i am currently 15. Also as soon as i entered the dining room where the stage is located, there was a huge crash and then a bat went flying out of nowhere. So its still haunted.

     
  24. Tim

    August 13, 2011 at 5:47 pm

    That is kind of sad to hear it was all trashed. Mostly likely from partiers going to check out the hauntings and taking a few too many beverages with them. Spots that are classified as haunted still have a lot of history in the province.

     
  25. Jay Levesque

    August 21, 2011 at 11:21 pm

    Why are they tearing it down? They should keep it going and use it for guided haunting tours. Especially at Halloween or something like that…there should be cameras set up there at night to record anything out of the ordinary. Sell the place…I wish I could live there…I totally would! It would be so peaceful and cool…

     
  26. Tim

    August 22, 2011 at 7:04 am

    Most likely the usual reasons for tearing down an old and aging structure. I believe they did the same with the Mental Hospital in Weyburn, which was, at the time, the largest facility in the British Empire.

     
  27. Tera

    October 13, 2011 at 3:24 pm

    Have they teared this down. We would like to go see it on October 20, 2011. Is there anyone that would take us through it.

     
  28. Tim

    October 13, 2011 at 6:01 pm

    I believe that the area has been condemned, if you need more information, contact the town offices of Fort Qu’appelle.

     
  29. Sarah Ridgway

    November 9, 2011 at 1:48 pm

    well i was able to go in because of the construction there and that someone was camping like right infront but my aunty went there for some retreat thing and they had to sleep in the room and she told us alot of cool stories about being there she said at night you can hear some of the move around you hear alot of footsteps and talking and things moving and my granny actually use to be in that hospital around the time of the tb she was a patient there but i know a back way to get in there and we took my grandpa there during the day and he wondered around there remembering every place and how it looked it was amazing and when me and my brothers decided to do some investigating we went up to the childrens ward at the very top and we were walking down the hallway and i asked if there were anyone there to give us a knock and i knocked and then asked if they could to the same we waited for about 2 minutes and then there was a loud bang behind me and my brothers were infront of me lol so we got pretty freaked out

     
  30. ally

    November 27, 2011 at 3:10 pm

    Fort san is still alive and well. But there has been cameras and no trespassing signs set up. We went there last night aniid didn’t get out of the car because the feeling of how creepy it just over whelms you.

     
  31. shayla

    December 6, 2011 at 2:14 pm

    ive been there and i ve seen alot of stuff there including a nurse it one of the back windows in the tower thing and ive seen little kids crying ans walking around i also seen so native abouriginal spirits there so i know for a fact the it’s haunted especaliy the main building when u first go in the the san’s ground

     
  32. Neal

    January 8, 2012 at 4:12 am

    Hi there.. I Plan On Heading thee In a Couble Of weeks With A co-worker Of Mine Who had a Family Member Stay thee While they were Ill.. As well as My grndmother had Stayed thee as well for the Same Reasons.. Are there still Ways to Go in for a Fast Visit.. and Back.. Lemme Know Asap.. Or Who should we Ask for a lil Lok about the Place.. Thanks..

     
  33. Catherine Reyes

    January 27, 2012 at 11:47 am

    I think this is so cool stuff

     
  34. Tina

    February 28, 2012 at 1:22 am

    Me and my friends were in there about an hr ago, and we went in the main big building. we had flashlights n camera and soon as we started taking pics, we caught a woman standing down the hall. When we first walked in a chair was in the way, when walking out it was gone! we went on all floors including basement.

     
  35. Harold Fraser

    March 10, 2012 at 2:27 pm

    Are you able to still go there for a walk though?

     
  36. Tim

    March 11, 2012 at 8:31 am

    I am not certain. I think your best bet would be to contact the Town of Fort Qu’Appelle to find out for sure.

     
  37. Terry Sanderson

    April 15, 2012 at 1:25 pm

    My brother went to a constable training seminar at fort San about 7 years ago. The guests of the seminar were givin rooms to stay in at fort San while at the Seminar. My brother came home after that weekend with some very starnge stories of his stay there. One incident that happened to him while he was there was late at night while he was sleeping. He awoke to somebody or something laying on his back forcing him into the bed. AS much as he try he could not push himself up and away from the bed until whatever was holding him had released their grasp. After coming home he watched the show creep canada. His face turned white and a look of horror came over his face when he heard for the first time that fort San was haunted. I will be back soon as i find out what else he experienced there. Till then keep searching. The truth is out there.

     
  38. erin Kettler

    April 19, 2012 at 10:05 pm

    I have stayed there back when i was in cadets during the summer and it was so hot every night my roommate and i both went to bed at the same time we left the window open and slept with the covers off. Every morning we would wake up and the window would be closed and we would both be covers completly. CREAPY. When i went down to go get my meds for night i would walk down through the old doctors office and i could smell the old cigar smell and there was no smoking on campus. WIRED. There was at night a fire drill and there was rumers that someone had seen a ghost hung from the top of the smoke stack. I had also been at a camp in Kingston Ont. Where i seen a little girl walk down the hall and there was no one else who could see her.

     
  39. Dahlia

    May 14, 2012 at 4:11 pm

    A few buildings/sections have been torn down. Lot of damage inside most buildings/rooms. Checked it out with some friends who’d explored before. So cold inside but everything was pretty much open this past weekend. Got a bit freaked out when leaving because a family was walking around the outside and their car looked like a cop car from far away. I wonder how much time there is before its all taken down.

     
  40. Dieter

    May 21, 2012 at 1:13 pm

    This may long weekend my buddies and I went 3 nights in a row. the first night we heard ticking and banging noises to are requests of asking if anyone was there. We found that to be creepy but very cool. The second night it was just 2 of us and there were way way to many coyotes around the building to get anywhere near it. Weve found allot of coyote shit and bat shit in the building so be aware these things do go inside. Now on the third night, we had an experience and a half. We actually ran away. we spent 2 hours searching every single room, floor, and buildings. We didn’t hear anything this night. Not a peep. but at the very end of this visit we wanted to search one more room. The 2 girls were to afraid so they waited outside silently in the dark. So 2 of us go inside check it out. Once again, nothing. As we come back outside and we all look towards the building. Lights from every single floor and tower were flashing. Lighting up simultaneously. There were even smooth straight runs of light going down the hallways with no up n down motions of someone walking with a light. It’s impossie for 15 or so people needed to do this without not 1 of us that might hearing someone we go inside. there is glass on every step you take and it’s extremely loud, not to mention the girls waiting outside didn’t see a single soul walk passed them. And the exact room we left and just as we get outside its the first one to light up. It was absolutely terrifying.

     
  41. Sarah

    June 16, 2012 at 10:59 pm

    Hey im going to fort san again next month i comment on here alot and about my experiences this time when i go ill be prepared i did alot of research on the building and some of the nurses and stuff that are told to happen so again if you want me to look into anything email me at sarah_ridgway-19@live.ca thanks i cant wait 🙂

     
  42. jonasadam

    June 22, 2012 at 9:10 pm

    i spent 2yrs between 1963 & 1965 i have vivd memories as a toddler recuporating from tb and have long to see the place again before it’s torn down for good what is my chance to see the place ?

     
  43. Tim

    June 22, 2012 at 9:13 pm

    To be honest, I’m not sure as I’ve never been there myself.

     
  44. brooke

    June 24, 2012 at 9:49 pm

    i went there and its soo sad ok the first thing i felt is sadness in my heart all the people there need good treatment and all that stuff medicine food and all those people who were always lazy to take care of them are like stupid and lazy and crazy they KILLED THE PEOPLE THERE LIKE SERIOUSLY i hate them! how would they feel if they were treated like that……LOCK THEM IN ROOMS STARVING TO DEATH AND ALSO THIRSTY AND ALL THAT PLUS MAKE THEM MORE SICK LIKE SERIOUSLY RIGHT THUMBS UP IF YOU AGREE PEOPLE NEED MORE AND BETTER TREATMENT

     
  45. zebra lady

    July 4, 2012 at 11:33 pm

    i live in fort quappelle and i went to fort san today actually. all the buildings are still up and yes, very creepy! you can tell just by walking on the property that its haunted. my friends and i were walking down one of the hall ways when out of no where we heard the door behind us creek and then slam shut, it may have been the wind but it was still terrifying! and also we went to the top of the hill and all the lights in the doctors house were on. i dont think they will be tarring it down any time soon. they were doing work on it because there was a lot of black mold. the gate is open and theres no security any more. as long as your not vandelising feel free to explore!

     
  46. Neal

    July 8, 2012 at 2:17 am

    Sounds Like a Great Idea ,, A few Of Us From Where I work,, Had Family In there For Some Time While They were I’ll… And Wanted to Walk Though And Renew There Familys History.. Thanks For the Update..

     
  47. Hank

    August 14, 2012 at 4:29 pm

    Almost all of it is gone now. The main building is left, the childrens ward that was attached is gone. The dance hall is gone. All of the buildings past that are gone now too. Sad.

     
  48. rick

    August 18, 2012 at 10:39 pm

    We spent a lot of time there growing up, Aunts and cousins worked there. New years dances, other dances and this is the first i have ever heard of it being haunted. Friends lived there. Never hear a word of anything. maybe people are just making it up.

     
  49. Sarah

    August 30, 2012 at 2:09 am

    hopefully i will find out for you all on saturday me and my family are going up there on saturday so wish us luck 🙂

     
  50. Taylor

    September 1, 2012 at 12:14 pm

    I will be going to Fort San this evening with a couple of friends. I decided a few months ago that I would go with a friend to see if the rumours of security guards/cameras/fences were true. When we got there we were greeted by a giant blue fence surrounding the entire grounds, and a very welcoming “no trespassing – violaters will be prosicuted” sign. We were too nervous to actually investigate that day, but I did take a few pictures of the building closest to the road. I captured two very creepy faces in the group of photos. We drove along a side road that was behind the fence (which was open for some reason) and there was houses there. And a man seen me and my friend there. I’m thinking thats the only security guards they have. The people living in the two houses.

     
  51. Taylor

    September 1, 2012 at 12:17 pm

    If anyone is interested in seeing the photos I took, I can send them in an email or something. But as for anything else, I’m going back tonight with more people, with full intentions of sneaking (not breaking) in. We have cameras, a voice recorder, and a spirit box. We’ll most likely record the whole process inside, and there should be a video on youtube within the next couple of days, showing remaining buildings, and whaetver else we happen to come across. 😀

     
  52. Rachel

    September 21, 2012 at 5:41 pm

    Are the buildings still standing? I really want to check it out!

     
  53. Tim

    September 21, 2012 at 5:45 pm

    I am uncertain if they are still standing or not.

     
  54. J.

    September 22, 2012 at 9:46 pm

    some of the buildings are still standing.

     
  55. Chris,S

    October 20, 2012 at 3:44 pm

    I did my 2 week gt course for sea cadets. I stayed in the room were nurse Jane apparently killed herself.

     
  56. Waste of time

    October 29, 2012 at 12:26 am

    There are people patrolling the area and RCMP gave all of us trespassing tickets
    Wasn’t worth it we found nothing except crappy old buildings being torn down and stripped of all copper and junk from inside

     
  57. Tim

    October 29, 2012 at 6:09 am

    See, that’s why I suggest contacting the town first. That way, no tickets.

     
  58. Carmen S

    December 25, 2012 at 9:29 pm

    I went there in the evening a few years ago with a friend. We never went in just stood in the yard and snapped dozens of photos, nothing was out of the ordinary. Later on that night we were checking out the pictures on the camera and there is clearly a person posing in a window upstairs. We saw no one up there at the time the photo was taken and also no one else seemed to be on property at that time. I went back a few evenings later at the same time of day retook the photos and no one in those either. Yes there were shadows but this is clearly a figure of a person and all the shadows look different. Though I work in health care in Sk and have ghost stories of mine and heard many from coworkers.

     
  59. Blacksmoke

    December 29, 2012 at 9:41 pm

    I was there Aug and Oct 21 and 22nd they had starter to tear the place down.. most of the outter buildings are gone..

     
  60. candace

    January 3, 2013 at 8:10 pm

    i was on that adventure with you blacksmoke.. it was very sad to see such a peice of history coming to the ground…..the souls will forever be wandering now… maybe they will never find there peace

     
  61. Sarah

    February 19, 2013 at 11:35 pm

    i went there this past summer with some friends we were video taping and yes they do have most of the buildings teared down but when we went to look out the window my friend had said something and then there was a faint moan we had picked up on the camera and we didnt even notice till we looked at it. I feel sad for the spirits that are traped there.

     
  62. jonas adam

    March 10, 2013 at 11:43 am

    after 49 yrs i went back to the site of old ft-san last september 2012 and reconnected with the little boy i left behind so many years ago it was a sad & happy feeling to have went back

     
  63. mandzy

    April 5, 2013 at 11:07 am

    I want to see the pictures that people have taken that have the faces and the person posing in the window. If you are still checking back on this page Carmen S and Taylor, can you please email them?

     
  64. bell

    July 4, 2013 at 9:20 pm

    i worked their for many years, it has spirits for sure,all good ones i figure.

     
  65. Lots of Tickets

    July 16, 2013 at 10:13 pm

    In the Fort Quappelle newspaper they published an article today where they charged a whole bunch of people with B&E, Trespassing and Mischiff that whole property is owned by a private owner not the town of Fort San

     
  66. Wendy

    September 2, 2013 at 11:48 pm

    Terry Sanderson, which constable training was your brother on ?? I was there i think it was 2005 doing a training for the RCMP….i was one of the instructors and i had some creepy stuff happen. Freaked me right now. I didn’t sleep much the entire 2 weeks i had to stay there. We were in one of the out buildings where the doctors used to live. I remember having to go back to that building alone one night and i’ve never been so scared in my life 😦 i didn’t know it had been torn down.

     
  67. Zach

    January 3, 2014 at 12:56 am

    Anybody going there don’t! I went there a couple of days ago and got caught by cops for trespassing there is a guy across the street from fort San that now owns it and he charges anyone caught. Ps. He is an asshole! So it’s better to let it be and oh yeah part of it has been torn down and it’s not all that scary I was inside it’s not really that bad. I’m not saying it isn’t haunted just that night it wasn’t really active.

     
  68. Bad experience

    August 3, 2014 at 8:10 pm

    This place is now private. There’s many gates and no trespassing signs. The owner is watching you and will call the police. Many people ended up being arrested, handcuffed and escorted to the police detachment. Their vehicle were towed at their own expense and they were charged. Simply not worth it…

     
  69. Tim M

    April 13, 2015 at 10:47 am

    I went for GT for sea cadets years ago, Def seen and heard some very crazy stuff! Just a tid bit for all of you, one of the main doctors who was part of the staff out there in the 30’s-40’s if working really hard to keep the buildings standing! Not all the buildings are orignial.. The one we stayed in was called “Mountain House”. That building was built in 70’s. It still was just as haunted as the rest of the camp was. Alot of ppl dont know, but directly behind the main building there is a old cemetary in a grouping of trees! We only stumbled accross it because we were doing a survival training night. Dont know whether or not the cemetary is still intact because the headstones were just wooden crosses and they were in bad shape then.. Which was approx 15 years ago. The Aboriginal community was fighting that the buildings should be left alone because its sacred ground.. But it sounds like its a losing battle and you can expect a hotel/condos up by 2020. What a waste of history for the government to not step in and preserve this great site! My grandpa was shipped all the way to Fort San from Europe during WW2 because they thought he had TB.. He told stories of how many ppl he saw dying daily from it while there. He was found healthy and shipped back to Europe weeks after arriving.. This place holds a special place in my heart.

     
  70. joyofabluesky

    July 26, 2015 at 7:24 pm

    I attended sea cadet sailing camp here and am so sad to see it has fallen apart. I have a bunch of pictures of the place from back in the 90s when it was a summer camp. Very creepy place back in the day.

     
  71. SML

    August 14, 2015 at 1:29 am

    I attended Cadet camp the last 3 years they were open, and every year we would experience some scary things. The sunroom that connects all the rooms would be quite active. As well as the basement tunnels between the buildings. Being kids we were obviously freaked out, I wish I had pictures of the place. I miss it.

     
  72. Howie

    March 13, 2016 at 9:15 pm

    i grew up at fort san in the 40s and 50s…i lived at the san…went to school at the san…played on the beautiful grounds there and buildings….worked there during high school….NO i never saw or heard of a GHOST during that time…….great place to grow up at…..

     
  73. Jennifer Deby

    March 14, 2016 at 7:15 pm

    I lived there in 1989-1990, from August to June and had NO ghostly experiences. A few of the buildings were rented out as apartments. My fiance at the time lived there until June of 1991, and he had no ghostly experiences either.

     
  74. Brian L

    March 15, 2016 at 7:41 am

    I think Fort San was used as early as ’75 or ’74 even – in the summers for SSSA (Saskatchewan Summer School of the Arts.) I spent 2 or 3 weeks there, 7 summers in a row (July usually). (It must have paid off – I’m a pro musician now.) 🙂 I have extremely fond memories of those summers and the orchestra weeks. A bunch of us had found maintenance tunnels under the main building, running all the way back to the power plant (and definitely we weren’t supposed to be in there !). We encountered some eerie items from time to time – extremely old wheelchair, or crutches comes to mind. But honestly, I can’t say I experienced anything paranormal. (The occasional lad would get his baseball cap knocked off at night by an unfortunate flying bat (not vampire) !) Really glad to see the place is still being used.

     
  75. Kate

    September 17, 2016 at 10:28 pm

    Years back I was at fort San for an Eco conference. I actually saw nurse Jane! Didn’t realize she was a ghost til 6 months later when I read about it in Ghost Stories of Saskatchewan! And yes she appeared to be making a bed, I thought she was in costume
    for tourists, so I never gave it a second thought! She looked very real.

     

Leave a Reply

 
