RSS

The world of technology

26 Apr

This past weekend I went into the city, but with a different purpose than most other weekends.

The other weekends I did spend time with friends and went about doing some shopping and even saw a couple of shows.  This time, I went in to spend time with my folks.  The big reason why is my dad has entered the 21st Century, so to speak.  In this order he has purchased a digital camera, a netbook and a 3 in 1 printer.  Pretty decent.  And from the prices, pretty affordable.

The camera he purchased is a Fujitsu Camera, which is actually better than my own Kodak.  I didn’t read the full specs, but it can do everything mine can and instead of being 8.1 megapixels, it’s 12 megapixels.

The netbook he purchased is an Acer, which actually seems better than my own laptop, and I’ve even given mine an upgrade to 2 gig of RAM.  Plus, his is loaded with Windows 7 Starter.  A big step up from my own Windows XP.  Though, I’m not complaining, it took me two years to go from Windows 98 to Windows XP when it did come out.

Finally, the printer he purchased is a 3-in-1 HP Printer.  A pretty decent one as things go.  We aren’t looking at getting a magazine or newspaper quality type print job here anyway.

All in all, however, I think my dad made some pretty decent purchases, all of which go toward taking some nice photos and printing them off with ease.  My dad was always a photo-bug, having his own black and white 35 mm camera and even used the old Kodak Brownie line of cameras (I still have a Kodak Brownie Hawkeye camera, and it still works).  He taught me how to develope film and helped me learn about setting the photo paper down and getting the picture just right.  About the dodge and burn paddles and how to make things not look so over exposed.  You know, before Photoshop had all of that in the same utility and you could do it with software.

Now that dad is set up with his own computer, camera and printer, the next step is getting him online.  I think we’ll wait a bit on that.  Not like I need to worry, I have faith that my parents are going to be around for a while.  But having my dad connect online will be an interesting, if not sometimes entertaining, experience.

Until next time…

…keep ’em flyin’!

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on April 26, 2010 in Family, Life, photos, randomness

 

Tags: , ,

Leave a comment