RSS

Welcome Summer!

30 May

Memorial Day weekend poses for a lot of things, specifically the start of the summer season. Pools open, services are held for those that need to be remembered and cookouts happen! I love and hate this season at the same time.

Yesterday, May 29th the pool in my complex opened. I was quite literally dragged from my bed by my four year old who begged me to go swimming; at 10:30 in the morning. So we donned our swimsuits (of which i bought a new one for myself) and went to the pool.

With the smell of sunscreen and chlorine in the air we trekked the lawn to the pool. Within minute my son became a fish. Only getting out of the pool to jump right back in. Me? I jumped in decided it was too cold and got right back out again to bask in the heated rays of the sun. Along for the poolside fun besides me and my son were my brother’s best friend (in Indiana) Michael, my hobo friend Tony, his friend Ricky who we’ve dubbed as Giggles, Sara, Mallery and Donella.

This was round one. After about 2 hours of swimming we declared lunch and sped off to our houses to get food. We planned on going back to the pool a couple hours later. However, the events of the morning were enough to cause both me and Rhys to pass out after lunch. It was a nice nap. Shortly after waking up, we put our swimsuits back on and went right back out to the pool. Joining us this time was my brother and his friend Kyle.

Now when I say he’s my little brother I say that jokingly. My brother is a whopping 6’9 and just slightly over 400 pounds. So when he makes splash, he MAKES a splash. Him and his friend Kyle who is just a heavy and slightly shorter than my brother, were doing cannonballs into the pool and everyone was cheering, laughing and enjoying the huge splashes they would make.

All in all it made for a great day, even if it did end with some serious cases of red lobster like skin. Rhys and I only have a little bit of color but it still stings nonetheless. I’m looking forward to what excitements this summer holds for me. At least the good ones.

Keep it real and rockin’

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on May 30, 2010 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , ,

Leave a comment