RSS

Zodi’s Road To Black Belt

17 Jun

Sir! I will practice in the Spirit of Taekwondo , with COURESTY for my felling students, LOYALTY to my instructors and RESPECT for my juniors and seniors, Sir!

Recently, I found myself more and more interested in martial arts. Not because there is a new Karate Kid Movie, or even because of the old ones. After attending a few of LGIB’s classes, which she is taking for anger and discipline reasons, I discovered I really wanted to get involved and learn.

LGIB takes Taekwondo classes at the local ATA, American Taekwondo Association, Black Belt Academy. After inviting me to her end of school party, I got a taste of what it was really like to be apart of the class, it was hard work, but it was fun at the same time. Soon I was looking up the website and within 24 hours I had a class set up with one of the instructors.

I went to the small one on one session and right off the bat I was asked, what did I want out of this class. I told my instructor that I wanted discipline and more self control when it came to handling matters in the real world. It’s true Zodi has a temper and sometimes it gets the best of me. Ask Tim, he’s seen me shatter a plate because I got so stressed.  And this is exactly what I have in mind to get from the class. I don’t want fame, or glory, or any of the shiny stuff. To be completely honest, I don’t even want to participate in the tournaments. That isn’t what I signed up for. I signed up for a safe and secure way to vent my frustrations out.

My instructor showed me simple little self-defense moves that I can use. None of that wax on, wax off crap. I’m not a little cricket in a class full of children younger than me. I’m in a group of people ranging from white belts to 3rd degree blackbelts and world class champs. In class we are all equal. Black belt attitude.

From the moment I step in the building until the moment I walk out that’s all it becomes about. Black belt attitude is I can attitude. The real world melts and there is nothing but focus and sheer determination to succeed in everything I do in that class. Yeah I know it’s going to hurt and sometimes be so painful that I can’t move, but that pain will go away as I get better and more fluid. Before I know it, I’ll be able to do actual push-ups and sit ups, instead of knee push up and crunches. I’ll be able to nail that jumping side kick perfectly and I’ll be confident when I do it.

Right now I’m a white belt, but in the next couple of classes, I’m going to be a white belt with a gold stripe which means I’m one step closer to that black belt. I know I have a long journey ahead of me, but I’m looking forward to it. I can’t wait to learn more, to feel the burn in my legs from touching my toes or the sore muscles the next day. Sure it hurts and I’m a friend to ibuprofen, but it’s a good constant remind of I can do it, I did do it and I will continue to do it.

Sir! I shall live with PERSEVERANCE  in the Spirit of Taekwondo. Having HONOR with others, INTEGRITY withing myself, and SELF-CONTROL in my actions Sir!

Keep it real and rockin’

White Belt Obtained!

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on June 17, 2010 in Fun, Life, Sports

 

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a comment