RSS

Another year older…

02 Jun

“…and deeper in debt.”

I believe that’s how the rest of the saying goes.

I’ve decided that this week, from now until June 9th, will be contemplating the last year of my life.  Meaning, what I’ve done since I turned 40, not this being the last year of my life as in I’m going to…

…I think you get it.

Part of me looks back over the last year and really thinks that I’ve actually lost more than I’ve gained.  Not material or money, no I don’t mean that.  I’m actually not deeper in debt.  But, I have lost a few things and started to slow down.  One thing I lost was a friend.  Over the dumbest thing as well.  We talk every now and again, but not as much as we used to.  It’s taken a while, but I’ve just decided to move on with my life and not worry about it.

I have gained a bit as well, however.  I’ve gained the knowledge of what it’s like to write a book and prepare for others.  Sometimes I see the daunting task ahead and just want to give up.  It’s hard to go on when I don’t even really know what the reception is to the book I’ve written.  Anyone who doesn’t know, it’s the Adventures of Black Mask & Pale Rider.  Let’s just say it’s not leaping off the shelves right now.  That’s part in parcel due to the fact I have to do a lot (re: all) of the leg work to promote it.  And it takes more than just a few links here and there to do that.

Was it worth it?  Writing a book and putting it out there?  Yeah, I’d say it was.  It was something I worked hard at, and while it still has it’s flaws, I really wouldn’t want to go back and change any of it.

That’s just one thought for this week.  It’s kind of depressing, but this is a time to look back on things and sort of evaluate for myself.  Maybe tomorrow I’ll have something a little more light hearted.  In the meantime, feel free to check over the links below of past shameless self promotions (I’m always gonna promote the hell outta my book).  As time goes by, maybe I’ll have the second one in the series ready for publishing.

Related articles
 
1 Comment

Posted by on June 2, 2011 in Life, randomness, Writing

 

Tags: , , ,

One response to “Another year older…

Leave a comment