RSS

The Christian Right is at it again

07 Oct

This could conceivably be done in a 31 Days of Ghosts type post, because it’s horrifying what some people’s stupidity will lead to.

Yes, that’s right!  They’re coming after Halloween!  With the constant cries of “War of Christmas” that the Christian right always states is true (which, is bullshit), they are now suggesting that this Halloween, give out Bibles to all the trick or treaters.

 

Photo of a Halloween trick-or-treater, Redford...

Image via Wikipedia

Okay, first.  Halloween is a kids’ holiday.  It’s not even a real holiday, like Christmas is.  And yes, you could argue that Christmas is for kids, but Christmas is for the whole family.  I also know that Halloween has it’s roots that go back to times before the middle ages when groups of people would go from house to help ward off evil spirits.  Now, Halloween is a time for kids to go house to house and trick or treat.  I do believe that in some areas if October 31 lands on a Sunday, then trick or treating is done on a Saturday.  That’s fine, I really don’t have a problem with that at all.

 

mixed bag of characters. Characters at a Hallo...

Image via Wikipedia

It’s also a time when adults might go to costume parties at their offices or down to the local pub, or even get together and watch classic horror movies.  Nothing as extravagant, however, as is Christmas.

Now, second of all, I believe I have mentioned before that I am a Christian.  I also am of the belief that your faith is personal to you.  If someone asks, that’s fine.  I find it rude to talk to others and seemingly push your faith onto them.  I don’t think there’s some tally for the number of people we convert to Christianity, but I do believe we get major points for trying to help our fellow man without question and without want for payment.  So, by dumping Bibles into kids treat bags, this is sort of the reverse effect of the Jehovah Witnesses.  Instead of them coming to our doors, we’d be going to theirs.

The common reaction will be “but children need to know about God”.  I’m pretty sure if a child wants to know about God, then that child has all sorts of resources available to learn about Her.  Their parents are also there to help them answer any questions that they might have.  They don’t need outside influences pushing it onto them.  So, as noble intentioned as this is, you probably could have done a lot more good by handing out toothbrushes and toothpaste instead of Bibles.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on October 7, 2011 in Life, randomness, Rants

 

Tags: , , , ,

2 responses to “The Christian Right is at it again

  1. conniewalden

    October 7, 2011 at 2:09 pm

    Your hatred for God and Christ and Christians is evident and unmistakable. May God bless you anyway. I will not pray for anything less. Connie
    http://7thandvine.wordpress.com/

     
  2. Tim

    October 7, 2011 at 2:38 pm

    I honestly don’t hate God. I also don’t hate Christians. I consider myself one of them. What I don’t like is the hypocrisy that often times comes forth from the extreme right. I firmly believe Church and State should be separated. I live in Canada, and while our laws are based on British Law, which is based on Bibilical laws (some could also argue Islam) I do not believe that this country is firmly a Christian nation. I believe in tolerance toward everyone, whether they be of a different sexual orientation, a different religion or different skin colour. Those are also values that are found in the Bible.

    What I do not like are Christians using the Bible to support political causes, and using the Bible like a buffet in order to prove “facts”. Argue against certain things, but ignore others (like not being allowed to play with a ball made from a pig’s skin which basically is what happens every Sunday during football season). I do not like the fact that people use the Bible as a way to promote hatred and bigotry, such as what the Westboro Baptist Church is doing. Christ promoted peace, love and kindness to all, not just to those who happened to think the way he did.

     

Leave a comment