RSS

Regarding days

30 Dec

Or, in this case, years.  As a part of a previous post (found here) which has garnered some … interest … here’s a quick video on the different calendars we’ve had in the world.  I’d explain here, but, just watch the video.  Take note, in the video it’s explained that the Romans used to have an eight day week.  So the Beatles weren’t that far off*.

And here’s another video explaining it all.  Or, at least explaining how much bunk the 2012 Mayan calendar ending in 2012.

I hope this brings about some insight as to the different lines of thought on how days, weeks, years, months, so on and so forth have changed over the thousands of years.

*And now, the Beatles.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on December 30, 2011 in randomness, Rants

 

Tags: , , , ,

2 responses to “Regarding days

  1. Darlene Steelman

    December 31, 2011 at 12:09 am

    Ha! Two very good videos. I have seen “Eight Days A Week” by The Beatles.. I am saving that one for tomorrow morning.
    The calendar video was interesting because I always kind of wondered how “365 days came to be.”
    As far as the “Mayan End of the World” stuff… I always thought the Mayans said, “Ok, we’ve carved 2,012 years here.. I am starting to see a pattern, I think the people can figure it out for themselves.”
    Great post.

     
  2. Tim

    December 31, 2011 at 9:24 am

    The guys who do those videos have a bunch that explain a lot of things (the video on the difference between England/Britain/Commonwealth is brilliant).

     

Leave a comment