RSS

Friday morning picture show

23 Mar

Morning everyone.  It’s a Friday morning, and a bit frosty out.  I know this because I had to scrape a thin layer of frost from my car’s windshield.  I thought I’d make things a bit warmer, however, with a few pictures I found around the ‘Net.  All of it relating to what I discussed yesterday about the inspiration for the cat like species in Rocket Fox called the Felanus.

Caracals.

Lynx and Canadian Lynx.

Ocelots.

For more information about Lynx, Caracals and Ocelots, click the links to read more about them, or go to Big Cat Rescue.  I would also like to point out, each of these cats comes from the Family, Felidae, which is where I came up with the name Felanus.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on March 23, 2012 in Fun, randomness, The Barrow's Revenge, Writing

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

2 responses to “Friday morning picture show

  1. Darlene Steelman

    March 23, 2012 at 11:13 am

    I freaking love Ocelots!!! My all-time fave big (little) cat.. ever! Stunning. Lynx are cool, too… but love the Ocelots.

     
  2. Tim

    March 23, 2012 at 5:18 pm

    When I hammered out some of the details of the different species in the world (star system) I created, and based them off of animals on Earth, I came to a bit of a dilemma. Lynx, bobcats, ocelots, caracals and other lesser cats were just too small to be either Lionids or Pantherans. Cougars, which are the largest of the lesser cats and the largest cat that can purr, I decided to lump in with Lionids due to size. But as I created the world of Vulpinia, I realized that maybe there was another species besides Vulpine that may have evolved on the planet. So, I decided that smaller lesser cats, like the ones pictured here, would be perfect for this world. They would be about the same size as Vulpine, with the exception of feline appearance and maybe slightly stronger. It does mean I’ll have to go back and rewrite the handbook on Vulpinia that I had written before.

     

Leave a comment