RSS

A good addiction

08 Mar

As tyroper commented recently on Monday Morning Stuff and Things, Kindle is a good addiction.  And I have become quite addicted to my Kindle.

Photo on 13-03-08 at 1.20 PM

I read more with my Kindle now than I have in quite a while.  I’m not sure why, it may have something to do with the fact that It’s one thing to hold onto and it’s rather easy to use.  Plus, I can store all sorts of books on it.  I’ve even begun categorizing the different books I’ve got.  I love the fact you can buy books anywhere, and it’s uploaded to your Kindle right then and there.  I recently bought Phil Rossi’s book Harvey for the Kindle.  I bought it through Amazon on my computer, because it was a special offer through Rossi’s facebook event page, and within seconds it was updating on my Kindle.

I also like the fact there’s a ton of free kindle books out there, direct from Amazon in many cases.  I picked up the complete works of Sir Arthur Conan Doyle’s Sherlock Holmes for free.  That’s all the short stories, the couple of novels and the serial series as it appeared in the Strand Magazine.

Photo on 13-03-08 at 1.21 PM #2

I even love the fact you can categorize your books into different shelves.  So far, I’ve got two; sci fi and fantasy.  Soon, I’ll be adding western, nature, drama, and a couple others.  Though, it will be difficult to categorize a book; Hitchhiker’s Guide To The Galaxy can be both a comedy and a sci fi.  Even my own Black Mask & Pale Rider can be a fantasy and a western.  Though, I doubt I want to go that far with organizing everything.

Needless to say, I do find this device addicting.  But I also find it wonderful that I’m able to carry a library around with me in my coat pocket.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on March 8, 2013 in Fun, randomness

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

2 responses to “A good addiction

  1. Brenda

    March 8, 2013 at 5:24 pm

    I don’t have a kindle, but I use the free cloud reader and the android app. One day I will get the real thing, dammit! Anyway, I was absolutely delighted to find out my local library will loan out books for kindle. I’m actually learning how to read again 😀

     
  2. Tim

    March 8, 2013 at 8:50 pm

    Our library here, which is part of the Wheatland Library system that covers a large portion of rural Saskatchewan, also has books that you can borrow to use on the Kindle or on the iPad. Even the Nook, or the ereader sold by Indigo/Chapters in Canada. If you go to Amazon, there’s even a large number of free Kindle books, and one might think that they’re really crap books, but there’s some exciting books for free like Sherlock Holmes, Call of the Wild, Pride and Prejudice, and a whole lot more.

     

Leave a comment