RSS

What are you talking about

28 May

This is more a rant about comments that people make about one thing regarding a choice I’ve made in my life.  That choice is that I’ve let my hair grow long.

Really long.

I think I'm shedding.

I think I’m shedding.

I’m often told that how I’ll be viewed is going to come off negatively because of the fact I have long hair.  Either a “tree hugging hippie” or as a “stoner metal head”.  Of which, both descriptions are very stereotypical and incredibly ignorant.  Seriously, I know some hippies with short hair, and I know some stoner metal heads that can discuss the Doppler Effect until they’re blue in the face.

What do you mean long hair on guys doesn't look good?  I'm fucking fabulous!

What do you mean long hair on guys doesn’t look good? I’m fucking fabulous!

How one wears their hair is their own business.  Not unlike how one decides to dress.  It’s no one else’s business how one decides to dress, wear their hair, or how they look.  Body policing is really a crock of shit.  Each of us has our own individual way of dressing and living our lives, so it shouldn’t be someone else’s decision how we choose to live it.

Besides, I keep my hair neat and clean and in a pony tail so it's not blowing wildly in the wind.  Although, that imagery may arouse some.  If it's a bit too much, just take a long walk until the feeling passes.

Besides, I keep my hair neat and clean and in a pony tail so it’s not blowing wildly in the wind. Although, that imagery may arouse some. If it’s a bit too much, just take a long walk until the feeling passes.

My parents, especially my mom, would always cut my hair once a month on the button.  But since I have moved out of the house (I am 42 after all, and living on my own for 25 years), I’ve let it go every so often.  When I visit my parents, my mom likes to comment on how long and full bodied it is.  She appreciates the decision I’ve made and isn’t hell bent on getting me into a barber’s chair.

So, as of now, I no longer am going to use the excuse “I’m growing my hair long to donate to the Canadian Cancer Society for use to make wigs for cancer patients”.  No, the only thing I will say is “Yeah, so what?  Don’t like it, just deal with it.”

 

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on May 28, 2013 in Life, randomness

 

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a comment