RSS

There’s Nothing In This World I Wouldn’t Do: Pt. 31

13 Sep

Last time, the elven family in Kessex Hills received a visit from some who had helped Shani in the past.

Dream Away

(a series within a series, inspired by the Northern Pikes’ Dream Away)

All you lonely hearts, will you ever love?
Diamond rings stained with red-rose blood

Shani returned to the kitchen after finally getting dressed. She approached Lillian carefully, armed with this new information from Pania. Pania was rather sensitive about such feelings, almost empathic in a way. So Shani invited Lillian to walk with her. Naturally, Flintlock came along, this was too exciting to miss.

“So, y’all come out this way jist ta see me,” Shani stated more than asked.

“I remember that night in Annewen so clearly,” Lillian replied. “Even with the little you spoke of, you seemed honest, if not a bit blunt. You had a caring strength I saw within you. You seem like the type who would defend her friends and family. I grew to admire that and thought long on it after you’d left. Amber and Willow sent me letters when they saw you again. They even mentioned Flintlock.” At this, the cub grinned wide.

“Well,” Shani began then paused for a brief moment. “I ain’t one ta get real involved in any sort o’ … relationship. I do have deep friendships. An’ maybe I could learn ta get ta know someone better.”

“That’s more than enough for me,” Lillian said with a slight shrug. “I’m new to these kinds of feelings, and I’d prefer they happen slowly.”

Shani nodded with a smile, then looked at the road they were walking on. She hadn’t been really paying attention, but she found they’d walked out to the paddock. She turned to Lillian and motioned toward the horses grazing in the paddock. “Ya ever road a horse b’fore?”

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on September 13, 2015 in Writing

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Leave a comment