RSS

Daily Archives: May 28, 2009

You mean, it was here all along?


As I’m going through the edits of Black Mask & Pale Rider, I may often times take a break from writing and editing to do some marketing and publication research. When it comes to getting the book out there, I’ve been taking a few good steps in the right direction. Belonging to social networks such as Twitter has helped a great deal. I read what others have done, try to learn from their mistakes and successes and form my own success.

One thing I’ve found in finding a publisher is that there is a good number already in Saskatchewan. I don’t have to send off a manuscript to New York or Toronto. A prime example is Coteau Books. They accept unsolicited manuscripts, and have been quite successful over the years. Local Outlook author Larry Warwaruk has published Red Finns of the Coteau, a non-fiction book that examines the Finnish settlers in Saskatchewan. Larry has published other works which include the Rope of Time, The Ukrainian Wedding, and Andrei and the Snow Walker.

Others include publishers with a focus toward First Nation audiences, whether that be for historical, educational or fictional writing, and francophone writing for school curriculum (it may be Saskatchewan, and French Canadian may not be the first thing thought of here, but we have francophone communities).

There are also companies that will assist self-publishing, such as Your Nickel’s Worth and Centax Publishing Solutions. One thing I’ve found in the area of publishing (and it helps that I work in the print and publishing industry as a graphic designer) is that it helps to shop around at home before looking elsewhere.

For a complete list of publishers in Saskatchewan, see the Saskatchewan Publishers Group publishers list.

Until next time…

…keep ’em flyin’!

Zodi Highjack

Only a short one this time. When I read this, and when I was able to speak to Tim on the phone about it, I got really excited. This is a chance to see a story he’s worked on for well over a year to get published and his dreams become a reality.

From what I understand, he’s been encouraged by not only me, but another author he’s friends with to finish the second draft and send it off.

It will only be a matter of time before I have my own copy of Black Mask and Pale Rider. Maybe I’ll even get him to autograph it for me.

Keep it real and rockin’

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on May 28, 2009 in Black Mask and Pale Rider, Writing

 

Tags: ,