RSS

Random Thursday stuff

01 Aug

mark for Vetta pse jane

Anxiety

Today is the last day of my job in Outlook.  Over the course of the next two weeks, I’ll be moving, cleaning and setting up in my new place in Humboldt.  I’ve been here in Outlook for 9 years.  The really interesting bit is that I began working here on August 16, 2004.  My first official day of work in Humboldt is August 16, 2013.

I’m excited, but I’m also filled with a great deal of anxiety.  I love working and living here in Outlook.  I grew up here, I was comfortable here, I knew lots of people.  Humboldt is going to be a tad different.

I know there’s positives about this move, and everyone was happy to hear that I was planning on being there for the long haul (maybe I’ll hit ten years there).  But it’s this transition period that’s really got me right now.  It’s affected some of the creative things I do.  So for now, I’m not doing any writing until I get the move done.

Oh, and the biggest worry is money.  I’m worried about paying for everything and how much debt I’ll be going into with this move.  I’ll just have to deal with it as it comes along.

gotye-somebody-that-i-used-to-know

A Girl I Used To Know

I don’t know why this came to mind yesterday when I was driving back from Humboldt.  But I suddenly thought of a few small conversations I had with a woman through tumblr and the things we discussed.  I didn’t know a lot about her save for a few things.  She performed in the ballet, she worked with a small indie comic book company, and she was a big comic book reader.  We had something in common and that was a total hatred of the fact Jason Todd was brought back from the dead (to be honest, the coming back from the dead trope is tired and over used).  She was the one that got me thinking to start up Batman Thinking In All Caps (which I have totally been neglecting as of late, tumblrites need to start submitting stuff).

She left tumblr and I haven’t heard from her since, but I got thinking about her yesterday.  Wondering if she was doing well, if she’d succeeded in her dating pursuits (she is close to my age, so you can guess how older people like myself have trouble finding someone just right), hoping she’s happy and continuing her love of comics.

I remember talking about some of the things she posted, and was asked if she was someone I’d date if given the chance.

“If she didn’t live in LA and I didn’t live in Outlook?  If we lived closer to each other?  In a New York minute.”

On-the-Road-Again-Monument-Valley-Arizona

On The Road Again

This has sort of been the story of my life.  This song, by Willie Nelson, has followed me for the past two and a half decades.  And it seems it’s very apropos.  While I lived in Outlook for nine years, before then I had lived in the following locations, starting in 1989:

  • Saskatoon, SK (CKOM Radio, part time over night disc jockey, no announcing)
  • Yorkton, SK (CJGX Radio, three month news internship)
  • The Pas, MB (CJAR Radio, ten months, on air announcer)
  • Dauphin, MB (CKDM Radio, two months, on air announcer)
  • Saskatoon, SK (CKOM Radio, four months, swing shift announcer)
  • Melfort, SK (CJVR Radio, 14 months, afternoon news reporter)
  • The Pas, MB (CJAR Radio, 14 months, news director)
  • Yorkton, SK (CJGX Radio, 2 years, swing shift announcer)
  • Rosetown, SK (CJYM Radio, 14 months, news director)
  • Prince Albert, SK (900 CKBI, Power 99 FM, 10 months, FM morning news anchor)

There were small things in between each place, but needless to say, Prince Albert was my last bout with radio.  After that, I moved to Saskatoon, went back to school and secured work teaching some desktop publishing and web design.  Shortly after, I moved to Outlook and have been living here ever since.  But that’s a lot of moves in twenty years, not including the different places I lived in each community.  My 2 year run in Yorkton, for example, I lived in four different places.

To be honest, I hate moving.  But sometimes, it has to be done.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on August 1, 2013 in Life, randomness

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Leave a comment