RSS

Daily Archives: August 3, 2009

The Adventures of Tim and Zodi: Zoo Edition


This is a continuation of the Pre-Zoo Edition. We had one heck of adventure going up to the Indianapolis Zoo. Once we got there, everyone was really excited. Ninty-Seven dollars later, we were in the gates and on our way to examining all the awesome animals within.

eelStarfishFirst up was the ocean animals. There we were able to see different fish, sharks and other sea animals. My son was able to pet a shark, as well as a starfish. He thought this was probably the coolest thing, next to seeing real live versions of all the fish from Finding Nemo. The aquariums that they had set up were absolutely beautiful. It made you feel like you were actually under water.

100_1961penguinsWhen Tim, myself and our group came to the moon jellies, Tim and I tried in vain to get a decent picture of them. It was tough and I was the only one who managed to get a decent shot. As we wove our way through the groups of people and little kids, we eventually got to the penguins. It was amazing to see the large penguins, and the Macaroni Penguins. We even got to see some penguins chicks, soft and fluffy and cute.

Tim and I decided to tons of pics and then sift through them when we go home to pick out the best ones for the blog. We’ll also have a link to an album for all of the picture at the bottom.

1ChurroFull2730947750_e08bd99b32_oOnce we were finished at the ocean exhibit, we came all bought a churro, a tasty Spanish pastry that’s deep fried and coated with cinnamon and sugar. Thankfully it wasn’t too terribly hot, and the kids were still well behaved. After the Churro, we made our way to the dolphin exhibit. The announcer explained things about dolphins, like their personalities and the trainers helped to show them.

It was great fun to see the expression on the kids faces as they watched the dolphins do flips and play catch. LGIB and the other little girl in my group sat down in the splash zone, they didn’t get too wet, but had a blast watching the dolphins from the underside.

After the show, it was time for lunch, we trekked back to our car and retrieved our cooler. By this time I had a bit of a headache from the sunlight, and my temper was running short. Everyone ate a sandwich and my brother was kind enough to point out to me that I didn’t get paper plates. Oh well. We made do with what we had. Tim and BF seen that my temper was getting shorter with each badgering question that I got and began to delegate everything between the two of them, helping me out a lot. Once everyone else had their food, I finally sat down and ate mine. A few bumps, nothing major.

baboonslemersWhen lunch was over, we went back into the park and trekked through the jungle/forest area. The tigers were being lazy and didn’t feel like dealing the crowds. Though with a bit of maneuvering, we were able to see them lounging on their rock. Caution signs were put up everywhere to make sure that people didn’t get close to the enclosure. We even got to see the baboons, who were grooming and staring at us like we were in cages. Same went for the Ringtail Lemers that we passed.

Indy Zoo also has a splash park, where I set LGIB, the other little girl and my son loose. LGIB insisted that she wasn’t going to get soaked while she was standing underneath one of the bucket dumpers. Sure enough, two seconds later she ended up drench and everyone was cracking up with laughter.

elephantsDragonWe left the splash park and headed for the area where the elephants, giraffes, and other African prairie animals resided. The excitement over elephants was astronomical, even more so when they discovered that there was a baby elephant there. We seen rhinos, and my whole reasoning for going; the Komodo Dragons. The deadliest lizard in the world.

Llama100_2003Finally on the way out, we walked through Critter Corner. Where I got some less than random pictures of Llamas and other farm like animals. The last destination for the day was the desert exhibit. Where I broke down. That’s right, I was crying in public. It wasn’t because of anything the kids did, it was because I was struggling to deal with financial issues and realized that I shouldn’t have used all the money to go to the zoo. Mind you, I’m glad I did. Everyone was concerned about and even more so when the tears started to fall.

When that was over, I enjoyed the oddities found in the desert area, like the random bird that would fly over head, the lizards that blended in with their rocky beds and even the Meerkats, who proved that they love sunning themselves in safety.
meerkats
All in all it was a fantastic trip without too many bumps. now I’ll hand this over to Tim and allow him to give you his side of the adventure.

Keep it real and rockin’

Tim’s Hijack

Well, it’s been a couple of days, but I finally got around to hijacking this sucker.

I loved the trip down, having someone to talk to made the one hour drive from Bloomington to Indy go by quickly.  Outside of the hiccup in navigation, it was a pleasant drive.  Even the hiccup wasn’t that bad, as we got some directions that helped out a lot.

I love the zoo.  I love going to the Forestry Farm in Saskatoon, and seeing the Indy Zoo was a special treat.  For me, it was completely different.  Not only a zoo in a different city, but a completely different country.  My favourite areas; the sharks, the eagle, the meerkats and the dolphins.

I also fell in love with the little machines that were in the zoo.  For 50¢, plus a penny, you could get a souvenir.  Granted, it was stamped onto said penny after it went through a machine and was flattened.  But still, very neat, and a cool way to use pennies that seem to be glutting the currency flow.  I got a stamp of a bald eagle.

Zodi and I took a ton of pictures, which we’re going to put together in an on line photo album soon(ish).  Stay tuned for that.

Up next, the rest of the week, and the journey back to Canada.

Until then…

…keep ’em flyin’.

Zodi Highjack

Here is the Photo Album for our Zoo pictures.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on August 3, 2009 in Fun, Life, photos, randomness, Zodi/Tim hijack