RSS

Daily Archives: July 7, 2011

The Emperor’s Reported on Clothing


Today I was reading the daily paper at lunch, like I am oft to do at lunch.  And today, for the past few days, I’ve taken a passing interest in what William and Kate are doing on their tour of Canada.

Yesterday they were in Slave Lake, Alberta.  Slave Lake hit the news earlier this year in a tragic way, as a fire ravaged the small community.  As I was reading, I wanted to read, hoped to read what the newly wed Royal Couple had to say about the tragedy.  At least William, because as I understand it, Kate keeps a low profile and rarely, if ever, speaks to the media.  Sadly, there was no such report of thoughts on the fire from the Royals.  There was a fashion report on what they were wearing, which is more of what my focus has been on for this little rant.

I honestly don’t care what the Royal Couple was wearing.  I’m assuming pants and a shirt, though there are pictures, so I can guess by looking at those.  What they’re wearing isn’t nearly as important as what they are doing, or what they are saying.  It was mentioned while they were in Quebec how the Prince made his speech in french (albeit, not very well, but an effort was made).

This is the type of reporting that’s always done whenever it’s a member of the Royal Family. Part of the story always has to contain what they were wearing.  Is that really a big deal?  I know it isn’t for me.  Can you imagine if the emperor from the story had to read the paper about his “clothes”, only to find out that way that he was completely naked.  I can almost see it in print right now.  Then again, if the Duke and Duchess of Cambridge appeared in Slave Lake naked, then that would be news.  But they weren’t, so what they did wear wasn’t a news item to me.

Until next time…

…keep ’em flyin’!

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on July 7, 2011 in Opinion, randomness

 

Tags: , ,