RSS

The Adventures of Tim and Zodi: Pre-Zoo Edition

01 Aug

Welcome to the second part of the Tim and Zodi Vacation Edition of the blog.  We had so much fun at the Indianapolis Zoo.  Everything went fairly smooth (save for a few bumps.) Including the trip up there.

BF and I had been planning a trip to the Zoo for several weeks previously, and decided we would go when Tim came down to visit. I informed the Little Girl I Babysit’s (LGIB) mother that we were planning a trip to the Zoo and she was invited to tag along. I told her that LGIB would need her own money to get into the park, but that I would cover her lunch and make sure she got something nice for herself.

Then my brother came to me and asked me if two of his friends could come with us. I told them and their mother that we did have the room and as long as they paid their way, I would make sure they ate.  We were already planning on taking two cars anyway.

100_1941

Tim getting flashed and still keeping his eyes on the road

When the day of the trip finally arrived, I told everyone I wanted them to be on at my house no later than 8 am. The Zoo was only open for eight hours, and I wanted enough time to see everything and we needed to stop at Wal-Mart to pick up lunch items and get gas. Once we got to Wal-Mart, LGIB and her friend (who is also my brother’s friend,) went off to look at the clothes. My brother and his other friend trekked off for a little bit after made sure that everyone was okay with Ham and Cheese sandwiches.

100_1943

Rhys on the way up to the Zoo. Shirt: I still live with my parents

We bought drinks for the ride up, and a thing of ice. There was also a new soft cooler, mountain dew for lunch, water, ham, cheese, bread and chips.  Being raise a Mitchel my packing skills have been perfected over the years and came in handy while trying to stuff all of this stuff in the cooler. Obviously I didn’t get it all in there, but enough to make everyone happy.

So after a quick fill up, we set off up SR-37 north headed for the Zoo. I had direction, and BF was following behind me. While I was snapping pictures, I missed my turn and soon 37 turned into a street I didn’t know. After following that for a long while, things looked familiar, but I still didn’t know where the Zoo was.  That’s when we pulled into the gas station. We asked the gas attendant at the Speedway Station, and  several people approached us and told us how to get there, each one gave us different directions, but it was the final man who told the easiest way.  As it turned out, we were right around the corner.

Little Girl I Babysit. She's totally smiling.

Little Girl I Babysit. She's totally smiling.

I gave myself a pat on the back for my Nav Skills, but reminded myself I hate driving into the city. This is any city, not just Indianapolis. Streets on maps aren’t marked as one way, so you always get surprised. Indy is no different. the big difference comes when you ask people for direction. In Philadelphia for example, a lot of people will tell you they don’t know, or just rush off. But in Indy, people approach you and tell you how to get there. Even if the directions aren’t that clear.

BF and the rest of the group comin' up the rear

BF and the rest of the group comin' up the rear

Even though it was a bit crazy driving up there, it still a lot of fun sitting co-pilot for Tim and getting to know more about his crazy Canadian-ness. Keep a look out for the next The Adventures of Tim and Zodi: Zoo Edition, where Tim and I will show and tell all about what we seen at the Indianapolis Zoo.

Keep it real and Rockin’

 
1 Comment

Posted by on August 1, 2009 in Fun, Life, Opinion, photos, randomness

 

Tags: , , , ,

One response to “The Adventures of Tim and Zodi: Pre-Zoo Edition

  1. Funny SMS

    August 1, 2009 at 8:53 am

    Nice trip story. Good to read it

     

Leave a comment